Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
News18 » Auto
2-min read

25 Teams to Compete in Season 3 of Force Gurkha RFC India

Winner of Force Gurkha RFC gets an automatic free entry to RFC Malaysia, where he or she will get a chance to compete with the best off-roaders from across the world.

Manav Sinha | News18.com@manav_sinha

Updated:June 14, 2016, 5:15 PM IST
25 Teams to Compete in Season 3 of Force Gurkha RFC India
An image from the 2016 edition of the Force Gurkha RFC India. (Photo: Force Motors)

The list of the 25 Indian teams that will compete in Season 3 of Force Gurkha RFC India has been announced. Some of these competitors had participated in the first two editions of RFC India as well. According to the company, the line-up for Force Gurkha RFC India 2016 sees a lot of prominent off-roaders making a debut in the toughest and the first international off-road motorsport event of India.

Gerrari Offroaders Chandigarh, Bangalore Off-roaders Development Association (BODA) and KTM Jeepers from Kerala lead the pack with 4 entries from each of these off-roading clubs. Mumbai’s Team Fairmont and Hyderabad’s Charminar Off Road Adventure Club (CORAC) will each be represented by 2 teams. V5 Off-roaders from Coorg, Mudhogs from Sakleshpur, Northern India Off-road Club (NIOC) and Incredible Off-roaders Goa will be represented by one team per club. The event will take place in Goa from 22nd July, 2016 to 29th July, 2016.

Force-Gurkha-RFC-India-2015-(1)-PS2016 Force Gurkha RFC India is set to all set to take place soon. (Photo: Force Motors)

Two of the competitors, Jagat Nanjappa from V5 Off-roaders and Tejinder Singh from Gerrari Off-roaders Chandigarh, are the winners of Force Gurkha RFC South and North India Chapters respectively, which were held earlier this year. As a result, they have earned free automatic entry to Force Gurkha RFC India 2016. Two factory-backed Force Motors teams, led by Malaysian drivers Tan Eng Joo and Mervyn Lim, will be back in the fray trying to retain their top two slots of the previous two editions. Additionally, there are two individual entries from Pune and Hyderabad.

Force Gurkha RFC India is an extreme off-road motorsport event which is a part of the RFC Global Series, which has 25 editions worldwide. The RFC Mother Event, held in Malaysia, is counted among the top ten toughest motor races in the world. Though it is only two editions old, RFC Founder & Creator Luis J.A. Wee counts RFC India among the top 3 in the RFC Global Series. The week-long event tests the driving and vehicle recovery skills of the competitors under extreme off-road conditions through a series of challenges or Special Stages (SS). The team with the maximum points at the end of all the SS will be announced as the winner of the competition and the best Indian driver of the event will get an automatic free entry to RFC Malaysia, where he or she will compete with the best off-roaders from across the world.

Force-Gurkha-RFC-India-2015--(3)-PSForce Gurkha RFC India will have 25 Indian teams taking part. (Photo: Force Motors)

India doesn’t have a lot of full-on off-roading events that allow the manufacturers and drivers alike to push their boundaries and provide an opportunity to take their talent to the global stage. At a time like this, events like RFC Gurkha certainly provides an opportunity, that motorsport enthusiast in the country have been waiting for.

Here’s the list of 25 Indian teams that will be competing in Force Gurkha RFC India 2016.

DriverCo DriverPlaceTeam
Kabir WaraichGagan SachdevaChandigarhGerrari Offroaders
Gurmeet VirdiKirpal Singh TungChandigarhGerrari Offroaders
Gurpratap SinghSanbir Singh DhaliwalChandigarhGerrari Offroaders
Tejinder SinghHarpreet SinghChandigarhGerrari Offroaders
Bijender SinghGajender SinghNew DelhiNIOC
Sameer ChunawalaAmrut KadamMumbaiTeam Fairmont
Sajid FakihImran KaziMumbaiTeam Fairmont
Daulat ChaudharyJay KumarPune-
Prashanth GVPradeep GowdaBangaloreBODA
Lokesh ShivarajRohith KRBangaloreBODA
Vivek KuriakoseAshok KuriakoseBangaloreBODA
Pradeep KumarPrithviraj ACBangaloreBODA
Narthan ByramudiSatish KumarSakleshpurMudhogs
Jagat NanjappaChethan ChengappaCoorgV5 Offroaders
Sam Kurian KaraickalGuhan ShettyKeralaKTM Jeepers
Kurian KurianPrem KumarKeralaKTM Jeepers
Anand ManjooranGeorge VergheseKeralaKTM Jeepers
Raju PaulKevinKeralaKTM Jeepers
Chaitanya ChallaShabarish JagarapuHyderabadTeam Hyderabad
Rajsekhara PrabhuArun ParikshatHyderabadTeam Mars
Abinav NukalaT LaxmikanthHyderabadCORAC
Jitender RajuSukesh ReddyHyderabadCORAC
Tejas Prakash ShindolkarPushkar AudiGoaIncredible Offroaders Goa
Tan Eng JooTan Choon HongPuneForce Motors Ltd
Merwyn LimHamizan Bin Abdul HamidPuneForce Motors Ltd

Get the best of News18 delivered to your inbox - subscribe to News18 Daybreak. Follow News18.com on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, Telegram, TikTok and on YouTube, and stay in the know with what's happening in the world around you – in real time.

Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results