Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
News18 » Auto
4-min read

APRC Rally of India: Gill Wins and Defends Title Double Victory for MRF Skoda with Veiby Second

Gill won the APRC for the third time already. In 2013 he was successful with a Skoda Fabia S2000, in 2016 and 2017 he competed with a Skoda Fabia R5.


Updated:November 28, 2017, 11:12 AM IST
APRC Rally of India: Gill Wins and Defends Title Double Victory for MRF Skoda with Veiby Second
Coffee Day India Rally 2017, APRC, Winners Gaurav Gill/Stephane Prevot (IND/BEL), Finish ceremony. (Image: Skoda)

After a tense season in the FIA Asia-Pacific Rally Championship (APRC) Skoda finally managed to win all titles. APRC Manufacturers Cup and APRC Team Award was already achieved on the last but one round. By winning the season’s finale at Rally of India Skoda Fabia R5 driver Gaurav Gill (IND) and co-driver Stéphane Prévot (BEL) also won the drivers and co-drivers titles. MRF Skoda teammates Ole Christian Veiby/Stig Rune Skjærmoen (NOR/NOR) suffered gearbox issues on the first leg, but fought back in impressive style to second overall, finishing as championship runner-ups as well.

News18.com Presents Tech and Auto Awards 2017 | Vote For Your Favourite Smartphone, Car, Two-Wheeler And More!

Gill won the APRC for the third time already. In 2013 he was successful with a Skoda Fabia S2000, in 2016 and 2017 he competed with a Skoda Fabia R5. “Last April I competed at the world championship rally Tour de Corse, nicknamed the ‘Rally of the Ten Thousand Corners’. But Rally of India is even more exhausting, it should be named the ‘Rally of the Million Corners’ at least”, laughed India newbie Ole Christian Veiby after the recce of the final round of the 2017 FIA Asia-Pacific Rally Championship (APRC).

News18.com Presents Tech and Auto Awards 2017 | Car of The Year: Jeep Compass or Maruti Suzuki Dzire? Vote and Win

His challenge was clear already before the start: He had to score seven points more than his MRF Skoda teammate Gaurav Gill, who came as championship leader to his home rally. “This rally is really difficult. If you brake a little bit too late before any corner, game could be over”, admitted the reigning APRC Champion. In front of more than ten thousand enthusiastic rally fans on the first show stage at the Amber Valley Residential School, the battle for victory and championship honours started. Gill was faster than Veiby by the little margin of 0.2 seconds, all seemed to be set for a tense fight in the Indian forests.

Unfortunately all hopes for an epic fight between the two MRF Skoda teammates were gone as soon as the rally turned to the coffee plantations around Chikmagalur in the Southwest of India. During the second special stage Ole Christian Veiby and co-driver Stig Rune Skjærmoen were slowed down by a gearbox issue. Coffee tasted bitter for Veiby, who had to complete six more stages with a gearbox finally providing only third gear. “On the second stage, I suddenly heard a strange noise and lost front wheel drive. A little later the gearbox was stuck in third gear, my co-driver Stig had to use the handbrake while I kept the gear lever in position. We spun several times and because we had no reverse gear left, we could only go on with the help of the spectators pushing us back into the right direction,” recalled an exhausted Veiby.

News18.com Presents Tech and Auto Awards 2017 | Two-Wheeler of The Year: Bajaj Dominar or KTM RS 390? Vote And Win

Thanks to the robustness of his Skoda Fabia R5, he could make it to the midday service in Chikmagalur. The mechanics of Team MRF Skoda demonstrated their class by changing the gearbox and the clutch in around 20 minutes, keeping Veiby in the rally. “What a great teamwork, what fantastic mechanics. Now I am on a mission,” said a motivated Veiby. Keeping his word he set eight fastest times in the remaining nine stages, until the finish moving up to second overall.

News18.com Presents Tech and Auto Awards 2017 | Hatchback of The Year: Tata Tiago or Hyundai Grand i10? Vote And Win

After his teammates bad luck Gaurav Gill built up a clear lead already after the Saturday leg. The local hero drove faultlessly on Sunday as well, winning Rally of India and the APRC title for himself and co-driver Stéphane Prévot. “I feel very sorry for Ole Christian, I didn’t want to win like this. But it was a very difficult and long rally, I had to bring the car home in one peace,” concluded Gill on the podium in Chikmagalur, cheered by enthusiastic fans. “I really would have liked to fight for the title right to the finish line. But at least I could set some fastest time on the special stages and learnt a lot during the year,” commented Ole Christian Veiby, who finally finished his first APRC season as championship runner-up.

News18.com Presents Tech and Auto Awards 2017 | SUV Of The Year: Tata Hexa or Jeep Compass? Vote and Win

In the prestigious Asian-Pacific regional championship Skoda can look back on unparalleled success. Since 2012 each title winner has competed in a Skoda. Winning the first three championships with the normally aspirated Skoda Fabia S2000, the Czech brand now achieved the hat trick with the most successful rally car in its category, the turbo-powered Skoda Fabia R5.

News18.com Presents Tech and Auto Awards 2017 | Performance Car Of The Year: Mercedes-AMG GT R or Audi RS7 Performance? Vote And Win

Skoda Motorsport boss Michal Hrabánek commented, delighted: “Congratulations to Gaurav for winning all three titles driving a Skoda Fabia. His routine and speed makes him a benchmark in this championship. Ole Christian showed his speed and his driving talent throughout the season. Without his bad luck in Japan and India, he could have been the champion as well.”

Also Watch: Maruti Suzuki's Senior Executive Director, RS Kalsi Asks #PehniKya?

Get the best of News18 delivered to your inbox - subscribe to News18 Daybreak. Follow News18.com on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, Telegram, TikTok and on YouTube, and stay in the know with what's happening in the world around you – in real time.

| Edited by: Ayushmann Chawla
Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results