Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
News18 » Badminton
1-min read

SaarLorLux Open: Kiran George, Vaibhaav-Prakash Raj Enter Second Round

SaarLorLux Open 2019: Kiran George and the men's doubles pair of Vaibhaav and Prakash Raj entered the pre-quarterfinals.


Updated:October 30, 2019, 10:57 PM IST
facebookTwitter Pocket whatsapp
SaarLorLux Open: Kiran George, Vaibhaav-Prakash Raj Enter Second Round
Representational Image. (Photo credit: Getty Images)

Saarbrcken (Germany): Young Indian shuttler Kiran George progressed to the prequarterfinals of the SaarLorLux Open Super Tour 100 after beating France's Toma Junior Popov in straight games here on Wednesday.

Kiran, the reigning Junior National champion, registered a 21-18, 21-11 win over the sixth seeded Popov in a 36-minute men's singles match to set up a meeting with Netherland's Joran Kweekel.

The Kerala shuttler, who had won the JE Wilson International Series in July this year, had defeated China's Liu Hai Chao 21-17, 21-13 in the opening round on Tuesday night.

Earlier, Indian men's doubles pairing of Vaibhaav and Prakash Raj entered the prequarters after overcoming Malaysia's Amri Ameer and Muhammad Idham Zainal Abi Syazmil in the opening round here.

Vaibhaav and Prakash notched up a thrilling 16-21, 21-14, 21-16 win over the Malaysian pair in 45 minutes.

The Indian duo will next face fourth seeds Alexander Dunn and Adam Hall of Scotland.

On the first day, B M Rahul Bhardwaj beat Belgium's Rowan Scheurkogel 21-15, 21-9 in the opening round. He will face Germany's Kai Schaefer.

Lakshya Sen and Mithun Manjunath will begin their campaign later in the day after getting a bye in the opening round.

Get the best of News18 delivered to your inbox - subscribe to News18 Daybreak. Follow News18.com on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, Telegram, TikTok and on YouTube, and stay in the know with what's happening in the world around you – in real time.

Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

facebookTwitter Pocket whatsapp

Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results