Indians who have won the Man Booker in the past

Indians who have won the Man Booker in the past

Jeet Thayil features among 12 authors long-listed for the 2012 Man Booker Prize for Fiction.

New Delhi: Indian author and poet Jeet Thayil features among 12 authors long-listed for the 2012 Man Booker Prize for Fiction for his book Narcopolis.

The Man Booker Prize promotes the finest in fiction by rewarding the best book of the year. The prize is the world's most important literary award and has the power to transform the fortunes of authors and publishers.

Here's a look at some of Indians who have been conferred with the honour in the past.

Salman Rushdie for Midnight's Children in 1981

British-Indian author Salman Rushdie's Midnight's Children won the Booker Prize in 1981.

The book deals with India's transition from British colonialism to independence and the partition of India. It is considered an example of post-colonial literature and magical realism. The story is told by its main protagonist, Saleem Sinai, and is set in the context of actual historical events.

It was awarded the 'Booker of Bookers' Prize in 1993 and 2008 to celebrate the Booker Prize 25th and 40th anniversary.

Arundhati Roy for The God of Small Things in 1997

She won the Booker Prize in 1997 for her novel The God of Small Things.

The God of Small Things was Arundhati Roy's debut novel . It is a story about childhood experiences of fraternal twins whose lives are destroyed by the 'Love Laws' that lay down "who should be loved, and how. And how much."

Roy has also written a few screenplays and several collections of essays. Her writings are on various social, environmental and political issues have been a subject of major controversy in India.

She's often in news for her statements in favour of Naxalites.

Kiran Desai for The Inheritance of Loss in 2006

Her novel The Inheritance of Loss won the 2006 Man Booker Prize. Desai is the daughter of the Anita Desai, herself short-listed for the Booker Prize on three occasions.

The Inheritance of Loss is the second novel by the author. It was first published in 2006 and had won a number of awards.

The book was written over a period of seven years after her first book. Its main theme is migration, living between two worlds, and between past and present.

Aravind Adiga for The White Tiger in 2009

Adiga, an Indian writer and journalist, his debut novel The White Tiger was published in 2008 and won the 40th Man Booker Prize in the same year. The novel provides a darkly humorous perspective of India’s class struggle in a globalized world as told through a retrospective narration from Balram Halwai, a village boy.

The winner of the Man Booker Prize receives £50,000 and, like all the shortlisted authors, a cheque for £2,500 and a designer bound copy of their book. Fulfilling one of the objectives of the prize - to encourage the widest possible readership for the best in literary fiction - the winner and the shortlisted authors now enjoy a dramatic increase in book sales worldwide.

The winner of the Man Booker Prize 2011 was Julian Barnes's The Sense of an Ending.

The shortlist will be announced on 11 September 2012 and the final announcement for the winner will be made on 16th October 2012.

Next Story