Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
1-min read

Fifteenth Finance Commission to Discuss GST Issues Today, Wishes Had More Time

The commission, headed by former revenue secretary and BJP member N.K. Singh, will submit its report towards the end of 2019 as indicated by a member of the panel on conditions of anonymity.

Rounak Kumar Gunjan | News18.com@Rounak_T

Updated:December 4, 2017, 10:34 AM IST
Fifteenth Finance Commission to Discuss GST Issues Today, Wishes Had More Time
Image for representation.
New Delhi: The newly empanelled 15th Finance Commission will have their first round of deliberations on Monday after meeting finance minister Arun Jaitley.

"Only once the meetings are held we can talk in details on what are the pointers we will be working on. This is the first commission after the planning commission was done away with. We have two years to submit the reports. There are matters such as the goods and services tax (GST) to be discussed. We need to meet every state head and all other respective stake holders. I cannot speak for the entire commission but it would have been better if we had three years to submit the report. However, we will do the required within the stipulated time," said an official of the finance commission who did not want to be named.

The commission will submit its report towards the end of 2019 as indicated by a member of the panel on conditions of anonymity.

"A press release will be issued after the commission's meeting," the official added.

The 15th Finance Commission's recommendations will come into effect for the five years starting 1 April 2020 and ending March 2025.

Former revenue secretary N.K. Singh, also a member of the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), is heading the commission.

Other members of the 15th Finance Commission include former economic affairs secretary Shaktikanta Das and adjunct professor at Georgetown University Anoop Singh. Bandhan Bank chairman and former chief economic adviser Ashok Lahiri and NITI Aayog member Ramesh Chand have been appointed part-time members.

The 14th Finance Commission, chaired by former Reserve Bank of India governor Y.V. Reddy, had raised the combined share of states in net central taxes to 42% from 32% after ending discretionary resource transfers from the centre to the states. The preceding commissions recommendations stand till March 2020.

Apart from performing its constitutionally mandated job of deciding on the distribution of shareable central tax proceeds among centre, states and local bodies for the first time in the post GST era, the 15th Finance Commission has been asked to recommend appropriate levels of general and consolidated government debt and deficit levels for the centre and states.
| Edited by: Bijaya Das
Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch

Top Gainers
Company Price Change %Gain
BPCL 384.80 2.76
Sun Pharma 418.75 2.42
ICICI Bank 407.35 1.80
Kotak Mahindra 1,511.05 1.56
ONGC 176.60 1.06
Company Price Change %Gain
Sun Pharma 418.70 2.45
ICICI Bank 407.25 1.72
ONGC 176.50 1.26
Kotak Mahindra 1,492.30 0.34
HDFC 2,143.00 1.37
Top Losers
Company Price Change %Gain
Yes Bank 137.20 -2.70
Indiabulls Hsg 784.35 -2.90
IndusInd Bank 1,408.25 -2.73
Tech Mahindra 773.05 -0.81
ITC 299.85 -1.98
Company Price Change %Gain
Yes Bank 137.20 -2.70
IndusInd Bank 1,409.70 -2.61
HUL 1,759.00 -1.37
ITC 299.80 -1.80
TCS 2,094.00 -0.72

Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
  • 01 d
  • 12 h
  • 38 m
  • 09 s
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results