Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
News18 » Football
1-min read

2022 FIFA World Cup Qualifiers: Igor Stimac Releases Pronay Halder, Jobby Justin For Games Against Oman, Qatar

Indian football team head coach Igor Stimac trimmed his squad for the upcoming 2022 FIFA World Cup qualifiers against Oman and Qatar.

News18 Sports

Updated:August 23, 2019, 1:22 PM IST
facebookTwitter Pocket whatsapp
2022 FIFA World Cup Qualifiers: Igor Stimac Releases Pronay Halder, Jobby Justin For Games Against Oman, Qatar
Indian football team (Photo Credit: AIFF)

New Delhi: India football team head coach Igor Stimac released six players from the 34-man preparatory national camp for the upcoming FIFA World Cup 2022 Qualifiers being held in Goa.

The likes of defenders Salam Ranjan Singh, Anwar Ali and Jerry Lalrinzuala, strikers Farukh Choudhary and Jobby Justin and midfielder Pronay Halder have been released.

The Indian national men's football team have been drawn in Group E for the Asian Qualifiers for the 2022 FIFA World Cup, alongside hosts Qatar, Oman, Bangladesh and Afghanistan.

India are slated to play their first match first against Oman on September 5, 2019, followed by matches against Qatar on September 10, Bangladesh on October 15 and Afghanistan on November 14.

Here's the current 28-member squad list:

GOALKEEPERS: Gurpreet Singh Sandhu, Amrinder Singh, Kamaljit Singh, Vishal Kaith

DEFENDERS: Rahul Bheke, Nishu Kumar, Pritam Kotal, Anas Edathodika, Sandesh Jhingan, Narender Gahlot, Sarthak Golui, Adil Khan, Subhasish Bose, Mandar Rao Dessai

MIDFIELDERS: Nikhil Poojari, Udanta Singh, Anirudh Thapa, Raynier Fernandes, Vinit Rai, Sahal Abdul Samad, Amarjit Singh, Brandon Fernandes, Lallianzuala Chhangte, Halicharan Narzary, Ashique Kuruniyan

FORWARDS: Balwant Singh, Sunil Chhetri, Manvir Singh

Get the best of News18 delivered to your inbox - subscribe to News18 Daybreak. Follow News18.com on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, Telegram, TikTok and on YouTube, and stay in the know with what's happening in the world around you – in real time.

Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

facebookTwitter Pocket whatsapp

Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results