Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
Powered by cricketnext logo
News18 » Football
1-min read

Indian Senior Women's Football Squad for South Asian Games 2019 Announced

Indian women's football team will open their South Asian Games 2019 campaign against Maldives on December 3.

News18 Sports

Updated:November 29, 2019, 2:30 PM IST
facebookTwitter Pocket whatsapp
Indian Senior Women's Football Squad for South Asian Games 2019 Announced
Indian women's football team. (Photo Credit: @IndianFootball)

The Indian senior women's national team was announced for the upcoming South Asian Games 2019 on Friday. The South Asian Games for women will take place from December 3-10 in Pokhara, Nepal.

The teams participating are India, Nepal, Sri Lanka and Maldives. India will open their campaign against Maldives on December 3.

The best and the second-best performers off the four nations will face off in the final on December 10.

The 20-women squad for Maymol Rocky has not changed much from the coach's previous squad announcement with all the major names making the squad.

Dalima Chhibber, who was named for the camp, has not made the final cut, after she could not make it for the tournament as she is studying and playing in Canada.

Also, Kamala Devi and Indumathi Kathiresan continue to be away from the squad. Kamala is not making the squad after she and six others boycotted following problems with the coach and assistant coach Maymol Rocky.

Indumathi continues to stay off the circuit with reports suggesting that her employers Tamil Nadu Police are stopping her from being available.

Here is the full 20-women squad:

GOALKEEPERS: Aditi Chauhan, E. Panthoi Chanu, M. Linthoinganbi Devi

DEFENDERS: Roja Devi, Jabamani Tudu, Ashalata Devi, Michele Castanha, Sweety Devi, W. Linthoinganbi Devi

MIDFIELDERS: Ratanbala Devi, Ritu Rani, Sangita Basfore, Sumithra Kamaraj

FORWARDS: Anju Tamang, Dangmei Grace, Daya Devi, Manisha, Ranjana Chanu, Sandhiya Ranganathan, Bala Devi

Get the best of News18 delivered to your inbox - subscribe to News18 Daybreak. Follow News18.com on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, Telegram, TikTok and on YouTube, and stay in the know with what's happening in the world around you – in real time.

Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

facebookTwitter Pocket whatsapp

Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results