Salgaocar win first I-League title in 12 years

Salgaocar win first I-League title in 12 years

The goan giants defeated JCT 2-0 in Ludhiana on Monday.


New Delhi: Goan giants Salgaocar defeated JCT 2-0 in Ludhiana to secure their first league title since 1999. A goal in each half was enough for Karim Bencherifa's side to beat Goan rivals Dempo to the league crown and the result also keeps JCT's I-League status in the balance.

Francis Fernandes opened the scoring in the 13th minute while Yusif Yakubu added the icing on the cake in the 85th minute.

Hosts JCT needed a win to be sure of surival while Salgaocar required only a point to put themselves out of Dempo's reach.

Francis Fernandes set Salgaocar on their way by giving them the lead in 13th minute as he slotted the ball home, past JCT custodian Naveen Kumar.

Veteran Ghanaian forward Yusif Yakubu put the game to bed and ended JCT's hopes of getting anything from their last game, as he made it 2-0 in the 85th minute.

Incredibly, this was Salgaocar's 10th away win in 13 matches and they finish with 56 points from 26 matches, six more than both Dempo and Churchill, with the former still to play their last match against HAL in Goa on Wednesday.