Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
Powered by cricketnext logo
1-min read

New Faces to Fight Didi's Demonetisation War on TV

TMC has expanded its team of media managers to voice its opposition to note ban in TV debates.

Updated:July 24, 2017, 4:01 PM IST
New Faces to Fight Didi's Demonetisation War on TV
West Bengal Chief Minster Mamata Banerjee addresses a protest rally against demonetization at Jantar Mantar in New Delhi on November 23. (Photo: Rakesh Negi)

After Parliament, the Trinamool Congress is all set to take on the BJP in television studios. The party has appointed four more spokespersons to voice its staunch opposition to demonetisation in news channel debates.

The four appointees will join the party's existing team of media managers led by Rajya Sabha MP Derek O'Brien.

And reflecting party supremo Mamata Banerjee's Delhi ambition, the new picks have been made keeping in mind the Hindi viewership. "We get about a dozen requests everyday from news channels," says a TMC leader.

The new entrants in the team include Saugata Roy and Dinesh Trivedi(both with good command over Hindi) former Congress West Bengal chief Manas Bhuiyan (who recently joined TMC) and Nirbed Roy, another former Congress leader. The party earlier had four national spokespersons — Kalyan Banerjee, Kakoli Ghosh, Mahua Moitra and Sukhendu Shekhar Roy.

| Edited by: Nitya Thirumalai
Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
  • 01 d
  • 12 h
  • 38 m
  • 09 s
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results