LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
Powered by cricketnext logo
1-min read

Amit Shah, Smriti Irani Take Oath as Rajya Sabha MPs

Rajya Sabha Chairman M Venkaiah Naidu administered the oath to Shah and Irani in his chamber.


Updated:August 25, 2017, 2:51 PM IST
Amit Shah, Smriti Irani Take Oath as Rajya Sabha MPs
Amit Shah and Smriti Irani. (File photo)
New Delhi: BJP president Amit Shah today took oath as a member of the Rajya Sabha, making his debut in Parliament.

His party colleague, Union minister Smriti Irani, also took oath as a member of the Upper House.

While Shah took his pledge in Hindi, Irani took hers in Sanskrit.

Both the leaders, accompanied by their spouses, were administered the oath in Rajya Sabha Chairman M Venkaiah Naidu's chamber.

The two leaders, who were elected to the Rajya Sabha from Gujarat earlier this month, were accompanied by Parliamentary Affairs Minister Ananth Kumar, Finance Minister Arun Jaitley, External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj, Food Minister Ram Vilas Paswan and Law Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad among others.

Shah sat for a few minutes with his party colleagues in the BJP office in Parliament.

After the oath, he and his wife called on veteran BJP leader L K Advani at his residence to seek his blessings, party leaders said.

Catch the Biggest Newsmakers and the Biggest Newsbreaks on CNN-News18, your favourite English TV news channel. Keep watching CNN-News18 at just 50 Paise per Month. Contact your cable /DTH operator Now!
*Rental / capacity fee of Rs.130/- as charged by cable / DTH operator may apply. **GST extra.

Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
  • 01 d
  • 12 h
  • 38 m
  • 09 s
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results