News18» News»India»Andhra 'Invaded' Our Territory, Changed Names of Villages & Notified Polls: Odisha to SC

Andhra 'Invaded' Our Territory, Changed Names of Villages & Notified Polls: Odisha to SC

File photo of the Supreme Court.

File photo of the Supreme Court.

The Naveen Patnaik government has said the notification amounts to invading Odisha's territory.

More than five decades since the first status quo order on territorial jurisdiction dispute with Andhra Pradesh over 21 villages, Odisha moved the Supreme Court once again on Thursday seeking contempt action against AP officials for notifying Panchayat polls in three villages controlled by it. The Naveen Patnaik government has said the notification amounts to invading Odisha's territory.

The dispute over territorial jurisdiction over 21 villages popularly called as Kotia Group of villages first reached the top court in 1968 when Odisha on the basis of three notifications — December 1, 1920, October 8, 1923 and October 15, 1927 — claimed that Andhra Pradesh had trespassed its well-defined territory. During the pendency of suit filed by Odisha, the top court had on December 2, 1968 directed both the states to maintain status quo till the disposal of suit and said, there shall be no further ingress or egress on the territories in dispute, on the part of either party. The suit filed by Odisha under Article 131 of the Constitution was finally dismissed on technical ground by the top court on March 30, 2006, and with the consent of both the states it directed that status quo be maintained till the dispute is resolved. Now, the Odisha government has sought contempt action against Andhra Pradesh's three senior officials — Mude Hari Jawaharlal (contemnor-1), collector of Vizinagaram district; Adityanath Das, Chief Secretary of AP (contemnor-2), and N Ramesh Kumar, State Election Commissioner of Andhra Pradesh (contemnor-3). Apparently, the said notification issued by contemnor number 1 in unison with contemnor number 2 and 3 is to invade into the territory of the petitioner state at the cost of wilful and violation of order of this court. Therefore the contemnors are to be called upon to explain as to why contempt proceedings shall not be drawn against them and appropriate punishment shall not be awarded to them, it said. A bench of Chief Justice Bobde and Justices AS Bopanna and V Ramasubramanian listed the matter for hearing on Friday after senior advocate Vikas Singh and advocate Sibu Sankar Mishra, appearing for the Odisha government, sought urgent listing of their contempt plea.


The Odisha government sought notice to the contemnors as to why contempt proceedings not be initiated against them for wilfully violating orders dated December 2, 1968 and March 30, 2006 passed by the court in the original suit. It also sought punishment to them for having committed contempt of this court. The petitioner state of Odisha is invoking the contempt jurisdiction of this court against the alleged contemnor for having wilfully and deliberately violated the order dated December 2, 1968 and the judgement dated March 30, 2006 passed by this court in original suit filed by State of Orissa and State of Andhra Pradesh, the plea said. The Odisha government further claimed that administratively and otherwise, it has been in control of these villages but of late clandestinely the contemnors have entered into the impugned act of contempt by which the order of this court has been violated.

It further said that Jawaharlal had on March 5, 2020, issued various notifications to conduct local body elections in the Vizinagaram district in which Salur is one of the Mandal, where the Panchayat election was also notified to be held on the schedule date. In the notification deliberately the contemnor number 1 roped in three villages from the Kotia Group of villages' falling under the territory of Koraput district of Odisha into Salur Mandal of Vizinagaram district (AP). Clandestinely the contemnors changed the name of the three villages of Kotia Gram Panchayat, the state government alleged.

first published:February 11, 2021, 19:57 IST