Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
Powered by cricketnext logo
1-min read

Andhra Director General of Police on Jagan’s ‘Hit List’, Shunted Out after New Chief Minister Takes Charge

RP Thakur had been on the Andhra Pradesh CM's hit list for some time now, for his close ties with the previous Chandrababu Naidu-led Telugu Desam Party government.


Updated:May 31, 2019, 4:54 PM IST
Andhra Director General of Police on Jagan’s ‘Hit List’, Shunted Out after New Chief Minister Takes Charge
File photo of Andhra Pradesh CM Jagan Mohan Reddy (PTI)

Amaravati: On his first day in office as Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister, YS Jaganmohan Reddy on Thursday night shunted out state Director General of Police RP Thakur on expected lines.

Damodar Goutam Sawang, Thakur's 1986 batchmate, has been given full additional charge as the new DGP (Head of Police Force) and is eventually expected to take regular charge as the state police chief. Anti-Corruption Bureau DG AB Venkateswara Rao (1989 batch) has also been removed and asked to report to the General Administration Department.

Both Thakur and Rao were on the "hit list" of the YSR Congress for some time now, as they were perceived to be close to the previous Telugu Desam Party government. The YSRC, when in opposition, filed many complaints with the ECI and other authorities against the two controversial IPS officers.

Thakur has been posted to the nondescript Printing and Stationery Department as Commissioner. The incumbent there, T A Tripathi, has been asked to report to the GAD, according to an order issued by the Chief Secretary L V Subrahmanyam.

Kumar Viswajeet, currently Additional DG (Intelligence), has been given full additional charge as DG, ACB, as per the Chief Secretary's order.

In another crucial appointment, 1992 batch IAS officer Shamsher Singh Rawat has been made Principal Finance Secretary, a post that had been lying vacant for a long time.

Sending a clear signal that he is serious about bringing in good administration, the chief minister appointed 2000 batch IAS officer Solomon Arokia Raj as his Secretary. Solomon is seen as an efficient and upright officer.

K Dhananjaya Reddy (2006 batch) has been posted as Additional Secretary to CM. Reddy is expected to visit the state Secretariat on Friday and continue the bureaucratic rejig, official sources said.

Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
  • 01 d
  • 12 h
  • 38 m
  • 09 s
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results