Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
News18 » India
1-min read

Assam Bypoll Results 2019: Ruling BJP Extends Lead in Three of Four Assembly Seats

Borthakur of BJP has secured 53,844 votes, while Kurmi has garnered 18,523 votes, as per the latest trend reports.


Updated:October 24, 2019, 2:01 PM IST
facebookTwitter Pocket whatsapp
File image of BJP flag.
File image of BJP flag. (Image: AFP)

Guwahati: The ruling BJP is leading in three of the four Assembly seats in Assam where by-polls were held on Monday. While Rajen Borthakur of the BJP is leading over his nearest rival Kartik Kurmi of the Congress by 35,321 votes in Rangapara Assembly constituency, Bijoy Malakar of the saffron party has established a lead of 12,522 votes over Congress' Keshab Prasad Rajak in Ratabari Assembly seat.

Borthakur has secured 53,844 votes while Kurmi has garnered 18,523 votes, as per the latest trends. On the other hand, Malakar has secured 47,946 votes while Rajak has garnered 35,424 votes. Nabanita Handique of the BJP is leading over her nearest rival Sushil Kumar Suri of the Congress by 6,693 votes in Sonari Assembly seat. Handique has secured 27,956 votes while Suri has garnered 21,263 votes.

Rafiqul Islam of the All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) has gained a lead of 17,187 votes over his nearest rival Shamsul Hoque of the Congress in Jania Assembly constituency. Islam has secured 40,011 votes while Hoque has garnered 22,824 votes as per the latest trends. An estimated 72.62 per cent of over 6.78 lakh electorate had exercised their franchise in the by-election to the four Assembly seats in the state.

Get the best of News18 delivered to your inbox - subscribe to News18 Daybreak. Follow News18.com on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, Telegram, TikTok and on YouTube, and stay in the know with what's happening in the world around you – in real time.

| Edited by: ---
Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

facebookTwitter Pocket whatsapp

Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results