Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
1-min read

Atal Bihari Vajpayee Funeral: Central Delhi off Bounds as Most Roads to be Closed Today

Before the final journey, the BJP stalwart's mortal remains will be kept at the party headquarters for people to pay their last respects.


Updated:August 17, 2018, 10:43 AM IST
Atal Bihari Vajpayee Funeral: Central Delhi off Bounds as Most Roads to be Closed Today
File photo of Atal Bihari Vajpayee.

The final procession of former prime minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee will take place on Friday. Before the journey, his mortal remains will be kept at the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) headquarters for people to pay their last respects. Keeping in mind the movement, the Delhi Police on Thursday issued a traffic advisory for the national capital.

The following roads will be closed for general traffic since 8am on Friday:

1. Krishna Menon Marg

2. Sunehri Bagh Road

3. Tughlak Road

4. Akbar Road

5. Tees January Marg

6. Janpath from Claridges Hotel to Windsor Place

7. Man Singh Road

8. C-Hexagon from Shahjahan Road to Tilak Marg

9. Rajpath from Man Singh Road to C-Hexagon

10. Ashok Road from Windsor Place to C-Hexagon.

11. KG Marg from Feroz Shah Road to C-Hexagon

12. Copernicus Marg from Mandi House to C-Hexagon

13. Shahjahan Road

14. Zakir Hussain Marg from SBM to India Gate (C-Hexagon)

15. Tilak Marg From C-Hexagon to Tilak Bridge

16. Bhagwan Dass Road

17. Sikandara Road

18. Mathura Road from Bhairon Marg T Point to W Point

19. BSZ Marg from Tilak Bridge to Delhi Gate

20. IP Marg

21. DDU Marg

22. JLN Marg from Rajghat to Delhi Gate

23. Ring Road from IGI Stadium T Point to Yamuna Bazar

24. Netaji Subhash Marg from Delhi Gate to Chhatta Rail

25. Nishad Raj Marg from Netaji Subhash Marg to Shantivan

The following corridors will be available for commuters:

North – South Access

Alternative 1: Aurobindo Marg — Safdarjung Road — Mother Teresa Crescent — Park Street — Mandir Marg — Panchkuian Road — Rani Jhansi Road and reach the destination in North Delhi and vice-versa

Alternative 2: Reach Connaught Place — Minto Road — Bhavbhuti Marg — Ajmeri Gate-Shraddhanand Marg — Lahori Gate Chowk — Naya Bazar — Peeli Kothi — SP Mukherjee Marg and then reach the destination in North Delhi and vice versa

Altemative 3: Ring Road ISBT (Kashmere Gate) — Salim Garh bypass Road (Upper Ring Road ) — IP Estate Flyover and vice versa

Alternative 4: Reach Nizamuddin Bridge to cross Yamuna — Pushta Road — GT Road and cross over to ISBT and reach the destination in North Delhi and vice versa

East-West Corridor:

DND-NH24 — Vikas Marg — Shandara Bridge and Wazirabad Bridge will remain open to reach Ring Road

Vikas Marg — T/L Ring Road —T/R to Mathura Road — Bhairon Marg towards New Delhi

Also, traffic will not be permitted on lower Ring Road from ISBT Kashmere Gate towards Shantivan and from IP flyover towards Rajghat

Get the best of News18 delivered to your inbox - subscribe to News18 Daybreak. Follow News18.com on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, TikTok and on YouTube, and stay in the know with what's happening in the world around you – in real time.

Subscribe to Moneycontrol Pro and gain access to curated markets data, trading recommendations, equity analysis, investment ideas, insights from market gurus and much more. Get Moneycontrol PRO for 1 year at price of 3 months. Use code FREEDOM.

Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results