Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
News18 » India
1-min read

Bar Council Sets 7-day Deadline for FIR Against Cops ‘Who Fired at Lawyers’, Want Govt to Rein In Police

Bar Council chair Manan Kumar Mishra said that the police are 'abusing the judiciary' and demanded government intervention. He also said that the council will also act against lawyers who broke the law.

News18 Specials

Updated:November 6, 2019, 2:13 PM IST
facebookTwitter Pocket whatsapp
Bar Council Sets 7-day Deadline for FIR Against Cops ‘Who Fired at Lawyers’, Want Govt to Rein In Police
Lawyers staging a protest outside the Karkadooma court on Wednesday.

New Delhi: As lawyers demonstrated outside district courts in the city amid a raging war with the police, Bar Council of India chairman Manan Kumar Mishra on Wednesday said any incident of violence involving lawyers, police and public will not be tolerated.

Speaking to reporters in Supreme Court premises, Mishra said the police are “abusing the judiciary” and demanded that the government step in. He added that the BCI had approached the Supreme Court on the matter, and set a seven-day deadline for action against policeman who opened fire during the November 2 clashes outside Tis Hazari Court.

Mishra said the council will also act against lawyers who broke the law and demanded that no FIR be filed against lawyers till judicial inquiry is over.

“The BCI is against any illegal action by the lawyers. We will take action against lawyers who broke the law. We will look at the footage… What lawyers are doing in the local courts is not a strike. It is a peaceful protest. Strike is what the police did yesterday at ITO,” he said, referring to the 11-hour protest by Delhi Police for action against lawyers.

Police protests were triggered by two attacks on their colleagues, one on Monday outside Saket District Court and another on Saturday at the Tis Hazari Courts Complex after a parking dispute between an on-duty policeman and a lawyer which led to at least 20 security personnel and several advocates being injured.

Two FIRs were registered against unidentified persons, who were seen in a video hitting a uniformed policeman on a motorcycle with his elbow and slapping him outside the Saket court.

Caught in the cross are litigants who were denied access to the courts when protesting lawyers closed the gates. During the protest at Rohini district court, one lawyer took off his clothes and poured kerosene on his body in a bid to immolate himself, while another advocate climbed the rooftop of one of the buildings in the premises.

One of the protesting lawyers, who did not want to be named, said they will not resume the work till the time the policemen, who had allegedly fired at and lathi-charged advocates are not arrested.

Jaiveer Singh Chauhan, secretary of Delhi Bar Association of Tis Hazari court however said: "Litigants have been allowed inside premises. We are protesting peacefully. They have been allowed inside court rooms too."

Get the best of News18 delivered to your inbox - subscribe to News18 Daybreak. Follow News18.com on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, Telegram, TikTok and on YouTube, and stay in the know with what's happening in the world around you – in real time.

Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

facebookTwitter Pocket whatsapp

Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results