Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
Powered by cricketnext logo
3-min read

BJP wins 71 seats in UP, Modi defeats Kejriwal by a huge margin

1,288 candidates, including Narendra Modi and Sonia Gandhi are contesting from Uttar Pradesh.


Updated:May 16, 2014, 8:01 AM IST
BJP wins 71 seats in UP, Modi defeats Kejriwal by a huge margin
1,288 candidates, including Narendra Modi and Sonia Gandhi are contesting from Uttar Pradesh.

5:15 pm: Results declared for :

Hardoi: BJP's Anshul Verma wins against BSP's Shive Prasad Verma by 81343 votes

Bahraich: BJP's Sadhvi Savitri Bai Foole wins against SP's Shabbir Ahmad by 95645 votes

Barabanki: BJP's Priyanka Singh Rawat wins against Congres's PL Punia by 211878 votes

Basti: BJP's Harish Chandra alias Harish Dwivedi wins against SP's Brij Kishor Singh "Dimpal"by 33562 votes

Bijnor: BJP's Kunwar Bhartendra wins against SP's Shahnawaz Rana by 205774 votes

Kairana: BJP's Hukum Singh wins against SP's Nahid Hasan by 236828 votes

Kushi Nagar: BJP's Rajesh Pandey Urf Guddu wins against Congress's Kunwar Ratanjit Pratap Narain Singh by 85540 votes

Sambhal: BJP's Satyapal Singh wins against SP's DR Shafiq- Ur Rahman Barq by 5174 votes

Shahjahanpur: BJP's Krishna Raj wins against BSP's Umed Singh Kashyap by 235529 votes

Sitapur: BJP's Rajesh Verma wins against BSP's Kaiser Jahan by 51027 votes

4:05 pm: Result has been declared for the Sitapur constituency where BJP's Rajesh Verma has defeated BSP's Kaiser Jahan by 51027 votes. BJP's Krishna Raj has also won the Shahjahanpur seat against BSP's Umed Singh Kashyap by 235529 votes. In Hardoi, BJP's Anshul Verma has defeated BSP's Shive Prasad Verma by 81343 votes.

1:22 am: BJP's General VK Singh has won by over 1,00,000 votes in Ghaziabad.

1:20 am: Murli Manohar Joshi has won the Kanpur seat while Varun Gandhi has won the Sultanpur seat.

1:18 am: Mulayam Singh Yadav who was earlier trailing in Azamgarh is now leading with over 30,000 votes.

12:50 am: Actor-turned politician Hema Malini has won the Mathura Lok Sabha seat for the BJP. Maneka Gandhi, too, has won the Pilibhit seat while his son Varun Gandhi is leading in Sultanpur with over 65,000 votes.

12:35 am: The Bahujan Samaj Party has not managed to win even a single seat, as the per the trends.

12:20 am: Congress leader and Union Minister Jitin Prasad is at the fourth spot in the Dhaurahra constituency, where BJP's Rekha is leading by over 30000 votes.

10:30 am: BJP is heading towards a landslide victory in Uttar Pradesh. The party is ahead in 65 out of 80 seats.

10:28 am: BJP's Ramakant Yadav leading in Azamgarh by 1027 votes, BSP's Shah Alam Alias Guddu Jamali on the second, while SP's Mulayam Singh is at the third place.

10:18 am: After trailing against BJP's Smriti Irani in Amethi, Rahul Gandhi is now ahead by over 3800 votes.

10:16 am:Of 75 out of 80 constituencies, BJP is leading in 56 seats, Samajwadi Party in 10 and Congress is only ahead in 3 seats.

9:52 am: RLD leader and aviation minister Ajit Singh has lost in Baghpat.

9:40 am: BJP's Uma Bharti who was initially leading in Jhansi, is now trailing by almost 1000 votes.

9:40 am: After trailing as per initial trends, BJP leader Maneka Gandhi is leading with nearly 200 votes.

9:20 am: Out of 15 out of 80 constituencies, BJP is leading in 9 seats, BSP in 2, Congress in 1, SP in 2 and Apna Dal in 1 seat.

8:49 am: Congress's Rahul Gandhi is trailing in Amethi against BJP's Smriti Irani.

8:49 am: BJP's Uma Bharti is leading in Jhansi.

8:47 am: Congress's Mohammad Kaif leading in Phulpur.

8:46 am: Samajwadi Party chief Mulayam Singh Yadav leading in Mainpuri.

8:45 am: Congress's Nagma leading in Meerut.

8:42 am: Samajwadi Party's Dimple Yadav leading in Kannauj.

8:40 am: BJP President Rajnath Singh leading in Lucknow.

8:35 am: BJP leader Maneka Gandhi is trailing in Pilibhit against Congress's Sanjay Kapoor.

8:31 am: BJP prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi is leading in Varanasi.

8:30 am: Sonia Gandhi is leading in Rae Bareli Lok Sabha constituency and Rahul Gandhi is leading in Amethi.

Counting of votes at 76 counting centres in Uttar Pradesh has begun where 1,288 candidates, including Narendra Modi and Sonia Gandhi, have contested for the 80 Lok Sabha seats.

Prominent candidates of different parties whose fate will be decided in the counting tomorrow, included Narendra Modi (Varanasi), Sonia Gandhi (Rae Bareli), Rahul Gandhi (Amethi), Mulayam Singh Yadav (Azamgarh and Mainpuri), Rajnath Singh (Lucknow) and Murli Manohar Joshi (Kanpur).

Besides them performance of former Chief ministers Arvind Kejriwal (Varanasi) and Uma Bharti (Jhansi), BJP leaders Maneka Gandhi (Pilibhit) and her son Varun Gandhi (Sultanpur), Union Minister Salman Khurshid (Farukhabad), Beni Prasad verma (Gonda), Pradeep Jain Aditya (Jhansi), Ajit Singh (Baghpat), RPN Singh (Kushinagar) and Sriprakash Jaiswal (Kanpur) in elections would also be keenly watched by observers.

Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
  • 01 d
  • 12 h
  • 38 m
  • 09 s
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results