Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
News18 » India
2-min read

BPCL Cancels Tej Pratap Yadav's Petrol Pump Licence, BJP Steps Up Resignation Demand

According to the complainant, Tej Pratap Yadav had falsely declared that he had land for retail allotment, whereas, the real owner of the said land is M/S AK Infosystems, who had never given land on lease to him.

Alok Kumar | News18dmalok

Updated:July 21, 2017, 8:42 AM IST

Patna: The Bharat Petroleum Corporation (BPCL) on Thursday night cancelled the licence of a petrol pump allotted to Bihar's health minister and RJD leader Lalu Prasad's son Tej Pratap Yadav for furnishing fake details at the time of applying for allotment.

This action has further added to the woes of Lalu and his family who are facing a string of corruption charges related to amassing properties through Benami transactions.

The Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) was quick to demand the resignation of Tej Pratap along with his brother and Deputy Chief Minister Tejashwi Yadav - who has been accused by the CBI of getting a prized piece of land in Patna in lieu of awarding licences to a private company to run two IRCTC hotels, while his father Lalu Prasad Yadav was the Union railway minister.

Tej Pratap had challenged BPCL’s decision in a Patna court, which had vacated the earlier issued stay order on July 19 due to non-submission of favourable evidence.

"Tej Pratap grossly misused his position as a minister in Nitish Kumar's cabinet. The cancellation of a petrol pump licence after the court's order should be enough for Nitish to sack him, if he does not resign," said senior BJP leader Sushil Modi.

Nitish's party JD (U) is already at loggerheads with alliance partner RJD over corruption charges against Lalu and family, especially deputy CM Tejashwi. The JD (U) has repeatedly told Tejashwi to come clean on the charges or face being sacked from the government.

Tej Pratap Yadav had applied for the petrol pump license in 2012 and the retail outlet was commissioned to M/S Lara Automobiles, represented by him as its proprietor, on February 27 this year.

According to the complainant, Yadav had falsely declared that he had land for retail allotment, whereas, the real owner of the said land is M/S AK Infosystems "who had never given land on lease to you (Tej Pratap)".

"On the date of submission of the application for the retail outlet (12.1.2012) you were neither the shareholder nor the director of the said M/s AK Infosystem which never entered into any lease with you (Tej Pratap)," the complaint said.

After that a notice was issued to him which read, "We have observed that you are at present discharging the duty of minister for health, minor water resources, environment and forest of Bihar government, which may suggest that you are not in a position to carry out obligations contained in the agreement personally."

Get the best of News18 delivered to your inbox - subscribe to News18 Daybreak. Follow News18.com on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, TikTok and on YouTube, and stay in the know with what's happening in the world around you – in real time.

Subscribe to Moneycontrol Pro and gain access to curated markets data, trading recommendations, equity analysis, investment ideas, insights from market gurus and much more. Get Moneycontrol PRO for 1 year at price of 3 months. Use code FREEDOM.

| Edited by: Aditya Nair
Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results