LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
Needmore seats to Win
Needmore seats to Win

CNN-News18 Indian of the Year 2017: Virat Kohli is Indian of the Year | November 30, 2017, 11:51 PM IST
facebook Twitter google skype whatapps
The year 2006 saw the introduction of the CNN-News18 Indian of the Year. The initiative recognises the Indian(s) whose contribution to the country in a calendar year has strengthened the foundation of our society and has helped build Brand India in the process.

Having seen nine editions since its inception, the CNN-News18 Indian of the Year has cemented its position as the biggest awards in the domain of news television and an institution of impeccable credibility.
Read More
Nov 30, 2017 9:56 pm (IST)
Nov 30, 2017 9:42 pm (IST)

A quick recap of the winners at the 11th edition of Indian of the Year so far: 

 Public Service — Afroz Shah 

Sports — Kidambi Srikanth 

Entertainment  — Rajkummar Rao

Outstanding Achievement — Team Baahubali 

Business  — Acharya Balkrishna

Special Achievement  — Manushi Chhillar 

Special Achievement —  Indian Women’s Cricket Team

Jio Popular Choice for Indian of the Year  —  Virat Kohli

Outstanding Award in Business and CSR  — Adar Poonawalla

Special Achievement — Ravi Shastri 

Indian of the Year —  Virat Kohli

Nov 30, 2017 9:38 pm (IST)

Finally, Indian of the Year award for 2017 has gone to Virat Kohli

Nov 30, 2017 9:36 pm (IST)
Nov 30, 2017 9:34 pm (IST)

Indian Cricket team coach Ravi Shastri has been given an award for special achievement

Nov 30, 2017 9:27 pm (IST)

The award in the Business & CSR category goes to Adar Poonawala. As CEO of Serum Institute, he has taken the pharma company to new heights. Nearly two-thirds of world’s children are vaccinated with a Serum Institute product. Serum Institute vaccines sold at a fraction of global prices his charitable foundation supports path-breaking civic initiatives in Pune.

Nov 30, 2017 9:11 pm (IST)

Indian Cricket Team Captain Virat Kohli has been given an award for POPULAR CHOICE. he is only captain to score ten international hundreds in a calendar year, fastest to 9,000 runs in international cricket and has the most centuries scored as captain for the Indian team. He is the only one after Brian Lara to score 5 double hundreds as captain. He has led team India to no. 1 rank in test cricket.

Nov 30, 2017 9:04 pm (IST)

Winner for group SPECIAL ACHIEVEMENT goes to the Indian Women’s Cricket Team. Runners-up at 2017 ICC World Cup in England. They beat World no.1 & defending champions Australia in semi final. 

Nov 30, 2017 8:57 pm (IST)

The individual winner for SPECIAL ACHIEVEMENT goes to Manushi Chhillar. The 20-year-old won Miss World 2017 Pageant. She is the first Miss World From India since Priyanka Chopra won in 2000.

Nov 30, 2017 8:45 pm (IST)

Winner in the Business category is Acharya Balakrishnan. Balakrishnan Converted Patanjali into a marketing powerhouse to become India’S 2nd-largest FMCG company. His Wealth has grown 173% to 70,000 crore.

Nov 30, 2017 8:39 pm (IST)

Winner in Entertainment Category for Outstanding Achievment goes to team Baahubali. The film has emerged as biggest blockbuster of the Indian Film Industry, grossing over Rs 2000 crores

Nov 30, 2017 8:30 pm (IST)

The winner in Entertainment category for best actor goes to Rajkumar Rao. Rao has emerged as Bollywood’S most Verstile actor in 2017 with three storngest and diverse performances in ‘Trapped’, ‘Bareilly Ki Barfi’ & ‘Newton’

Nov 30, 2017 8:01 pm (IST)

The second category – Indian of the Year for Sports 2017-  has been presented by Union minister Suresh Prabhu to Kidambi Srikanth.

Nov 30, 2017 7:56 pm (IST)

The first category – Indian of the Year for Public Service 2017-  has been presented by Union minister Suresh Prabhu to Afroz Shah.

Nov 30, 2017 7:24 pm (IST)

Welcome address by Adil Zainulbhai, Chairman of the board of directors at Network18 

Nov 30, 2017 7:17 pm (IST)

Telugu actress Ramya Krishnan at the event 

Nov 30, 2017 7:15 pm (IST)

Ace badminton player Kidambi Srikanth at the event

Nov 30, 2017 7:01 pm (IST)

Indian Ocean's performance has ended. CNN-News18's Sanket Upadhyay and Shreya Dhoundial are now talking to guests.

Nov 30, 2017 6:51 pm (IST)
Nov 30, 2017 6:48 pm (IST)
Nov 30, 2017 6:47 pm (IST)
Nov 30, 2017 6:44 pm (IST)

Spotted at the event:

Nov 30, 2017 6:37 pm (IST)
Nov 30, 2017 6:34 pm (IST)
Nov 30, 2017 6:30 pm (IST)
Nov 30, 2017 6:28 pm (IST)
Nov 30, 2017 6:23 pm (IST)

The event has begun. Indian Ocean is the opening act.

CNN-News18 Indian of the Year 2017: Virat Kohli is Indian of the Year
Indian of the Year-Popular Choice- Virat Kohli.

Stay tuned for LIVE updates:
(Get detailed and live results of each and every seat in the Lok Sabha elections and state Assembly elections in Andhra Pradesh, Odisha, Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim to know which candidate/party is leading or trailing and to know who has won and who has lost and by what margin. Our one-of-its-kind Election Analytics Centre lets you don a psephologist’s hat and turn into an election expert. Know interesting facts and trivia about the elections and see our informative graphics. Elections = News18)
  • 22 May, 2019 | ICC World Twenty20 Africa Qualifier
    KEN vs UGA
    20.0 overs
    Kenya beat Uganda by 1 run
  • 22 May, 2019 | ICC World Twenty20 Africa Qualifier
    BOT vs NAM
    12.1 overs
    3.5 overs
    Namibia beat Botswana by 10 wickets
  • 22 May, 2019 | ICC World Twenty20 Africa Qualifier
    NIG vs GHA
    20.0 overs
    Nigeria beat Ghana by 28 runs
  • 21 May, 2019 | ICC World Twenty20 Africa Qualifier
    KEN vs GHA
    20.0 overs
    Kenya beat Ghana by 53 runs
  • 21 May, 2019 | ICC World Twenty20 Africa Qualifier
    NIG vs BOT
    19.5 overs
    Nigeria beat Botswana by 11 runs
Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results