Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
Needmore seats to Win
Needmore seats to Win
2-min read

Congress Stages Protests in U'khand Day After BJP Workers Storm its Headquarters

Congress workers protested at all district headquarters of Uttarakhand, shouting slogans and burning effigies of Prime Minister Narendra Modi.


Updated:December 20, 2018, 11:48 PM IST
Congress Stages Protests in U'khand Day After BJP Workers Storm its Headquarters
Picture for representation.
Dehradun:The Congress staged statewide protests on Thursday, a day after BJP workers allegedly barged into the opposition party's state headquarters and clashed with its workers over the Rafale issue.

Congress workers protested at all district headquarters, shouting slogans and burning effigies of Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

Led by state Congress chief Pritam Singh, the protesters marched from the party office in Dehradun to Astley Hall Chawk.

Shouting slogans against the BJP governments in the state and at the Centre, they said vandalism by the saffron party cannot throttle the Congress' voice on the Rafale issue.

Minutes before Congress leader Kumari Selja was to address a press conference over the Rafale deal at the party office here on Wednesday, BJP workers allegedly stormed its precincts and started tearing off the posters and banners leading to a clash with Congress workers.

The BJP workers even clashed with police personnel when they tried to stop them, Singh alleged.

The trouble began when BJP workers, who had gathered at Astley Hall to burn an effigy of Rahul Gandhi for "misleading" the nation over the Rafale issue, broke the barricades and marched towards the Congress Bhawan located nearby, ADG (law and order) Ashok Kumar said.

According to a complaint filed with police by Congress leaders, the vandalism by BJP workers at the party office was meant to disrupt a press conference by Selja on the Rafale deal.

The DIG has been asked to look into the allegations made by the Congress, the ADG said.

The BJP workers alleged Gandhi was spreading lies on the Rafale issue even though the Supreme Court had found nothing wrong in the deal.

"Despite the chinks in his own armour, Rahul Gandhi has used unparliamentary language against the prime minister calling him a thief and lowering the dignity of the top office," BJP Mahanagar president Vinay Goel said.

Asked about the vandalism at the Congress office, Goel said the BJP workers were protesting peacefully.

Condemning the incident, Singh said it reflected the frustration prevailing in the BJP ranks over the party's electoral loss in Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh and Rajasthan.

"Vandalism by the BJP cannot throttle the Congress' voice of protest on the Rafale deal," Singh said.
(Get detailed and live results of each and every seat in the Lok Sabha elections and state Assembly elections in Andhra Pradesh, Odisha, Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim to know which candidate/party is leading or trailing and to know who has won and who has lost and by what margin. Our one-of-its-kind Election Analytics Centre lets you don a psephologist’s hat and turn into an election expert. Know interesting facts and trivia about the elections and see our informative graphics. Elections = News18)
Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
  • 01 d
  • 12 h
  • 38 m
  • 09 s
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results