Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
News18 » India
3-min read

Delhi Assembly Elections: AAP Announces Candidates for All 70 Seats; Kejriwal-New Delhi, Atishi-Kalkaji, Raghav Chadha-Rajinder Nagar Among Big Guns

The party has given tickets to at least 23 new faces, including Atishi, Dilip Pandey and Raghav Chadha who unsuccessfully contested the 2019 Lok Sabha elections. However, only eight women could make it to AAP's list.


Updated:January 15, 2020, 7:56 AM IST
facebookTwitter Pocket whatsapp
Arvind Kejriwal
File photo of Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal. (PTI)

New Delhi: The Aam Aadmi Party on Tuesday announced its candidates for all 70 seats for the February 8 assembly election in Delhi, with party chief and CM Arvind Kejriwal contesting from New Delhi, Atishi will contest from Kalkaji and Raghav Chadha from Rajinder Nagar.

The party has given tickets to at least 23 new faces, including Atishi, Dilip Pandey and Raghav Chadha who unsuccessfully contested the 2019 Lok Sabha elections. However, only eight women could make it to AAP's list of candidates — only two more since 2015 elections. The Kejriwal-led party has dropped 15 MLAs.

Atishi will contest from Kalkaji, Raghav Chadha from Rajendir Nagar and Dilip Pandey from Timarpur.

"The existing MLAs will contest elections on 46 seats. There will be new faces in place of 15 existing MLAs and nine vacant seats. There are eight women among them. In 2015, there were six women," Sisodia said. Sisodia said. Soon after the announcement, Kejriwal tweeted, "Best wishes to all. Don't be complacent. Work v(ery) hard. People have lot of faith in AAP and u (You). God bless."

This time, the number of OBC candidates has increased from seven in 2015 to eleven, while the number of women candidates has increased from six to eight. Nine seats have gone to old party hands. Among the rest, most new joinees are from the Congress, followed by the BSP. Interestingly, at least eight of the new AAP candidates have deep pockets.

Hours after the declaration of candidates, Badarpur MLA ND Sharma said he has resigned from the party and accused it of selling tickets to candidates.

Meanwhile, BJP ally Lok Janshakti Party declared it will contest all the 70 seats and released its first list of 15 candidates.

Poll officials said the notification for the election was issued on Tuesday and nomination process began. The last date for filing nomination is January 21. The scrutiny will happen on January 22 while the last date for withdrawal of candidature is January 24.

One nomination each was filed in Burari and Matiala constituencies, while a candidate filed three nominations in the New Delhi seat, a senior official of the Delhi CEO Office said.

In an exclusive interview to PTI, Delhi's Chief Electoral Officer Ranbir Singh said his office will soon launch a mega, multi-domain outdoor campaign to draw large number of electorate to the polling booths.

"The 2020 Delhi polls will be tech-driven with greater use of technology elements like mobile apps, QR codes, social media interface, seeking to enhance the experience of all categories of voters, before polling or on the voting day. And we are trying to make the best use of it," he said.

According to Singh, focussed campaigns have been planned by his office to reach out to different sections of voters, aiming to break the "urban apathy" of the electorate. "We are soon going to launch a very focussed massive outdoor publicity campaign to appeal to voters to exercise their franchise. Under this, metro stations and select coaches on certain corridors, bus shelters, and other public places having high footfall will be used," Singh said.

His office said 100 FIRs have been registered under the Arms Act and 111 people have been arrested, while 196.6 kilograms of drugs have been seized since the enforcement of the Model Code of Conduct on January 6.

Four cases have been recorded in connection with alleged violations misuse of vehicles, loud speakers, illegal meetings and "gratification" of electors.

A total of 267 FIRs have been registered and 277 persons arrested under the Excise Act. The official said 113 arms, weapons have been seized while 2,449 licensed have been deposited. Over 1.46 crore voters are eligible to exercise their franchise in the Delhi elections, according to the final electoral roll. The counting of votes will take place on February 11.

(With inputs from PTI)

Get the best of News18 delivered to your inbox - subscribe to News18 Daybreak. Follow News18.com on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, Telegram, TikTok and on YouTube, and stay in the know with what's happening in the world around you – in real time.

Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

facebookTwitter Pocket whatsapp

Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results