Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
Needmore seats to Win
Needmore seats to Win
2-min read

Delhi-Haryana Rail Project Gets Khattar Govt Green Light, Will Run at 100kmph

The high-speed rain project will connect Sarai Kale Khan in Delhi and the Haryana-Rajasthan border near Shahjahanpur-Neemrana-Behrod.


Updated:June 16, 2018, 10:30 AM IST
Delhi-Haryana Rail Project Gets Khattar Govt Green Light, Will Run at 100kmph
Representative image (Reuters)
Chandigarh: The Haryana government has given its nod for a high speed rail network between Sarai Kale Khan in Delhi and the Haryana-Rajasthan border near Shahjahanpur-Neemrana-Behrod.

It was among the several other decisions taken in a meeting chaired by Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar on Friday. Union Minister of State for Planning, Rao Inderjit Singh was also present.

The Regional Rapid Transit Systems (RRTS) project will provide a new impetus to the growth and investment in Gurgaon specifically and to south Haryana in general, Khattar said.

The project will run along an elevated section on the Old Delhi road in Gurgaon to Lt Atul Katarya Chowk proceeding to Signature Tower Chowk and then along NH-48 up to Rajiv Chowk, an official release said.

Thereafter, it moves underground beyond Kherki Daula where it would emerge above the ground up to IMT Manesar. The alignment would move along the highway up to Dharuhera, Rewari and Bawal before entering Rajasthan, it said.

The average speed of the rail will be about 100 km per hour. It will provide a convenient mode of travel for daily commuters from southern Haryana to Delhi.

The first phase, being built at a cost of approximately Rs 25,000 crore, will end at Shahjahanpur-Neemrana-Behrod.

The project will be executed by NCR Transport Corporation (NCRTC), a joint venture of the Government of India and the States of Uttar Pradesh, Haryana, Rajasthan and Delhi.

The NCRTC will prepare the Detailed Project Report (DPR) in three months and physical work is likely to start by March 31, 2019.

Meanwhile, the project to provide connectivity from Huda City Centre up to Gurgaon railway station was also discussed in the meeting.

It was decided that connectivity to Old Gurgaon will also be ensured by extending the connectivity along the Sheetla Mata Road up to Rezangla Chowk and towards Sector 21-Gurgaon completing the loop with the RRTS project coming up on the Old Delhi road.

In addition, a metro project will also be planned along the Dwarka Expressway up to Sector 21, Dwarka.

For this, a techno-feasibility study will be carried out by Haryana Mass Rapid Transport Corporation Limited (HMRTC).

The two lines will be connected along the new road proposed to be constructed by Gurugram Metropolitan Development Authority (GMDA) along Sector 101/104 dividing road from Basai Chowk.
(Get detailed and live results of each and every seat in the Lok Sabha elections and state Assembly elections in Andhra Pradesh, Odisha, Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim to know which candidate/party is leading or trailing and to know who has won and who has lost and by what margin. Our one-of-its-kind Election Analytics Centre lets you don a psephologist’s hat and turn into an election expert. Know interesting facts and trivia about the elections and see our informative graphics. Elections = News18)
| Edited by: Nitya Thirumalai
Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
  • 01 d
  • 12 h
  • 38 m
  • 09 s
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results