Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
News18 » India
2-min read

EC Orders Re-polling in Six Booths in Tripura, CPI(M) Fumes

The EC ordered re-polling in one polling booth each in Sonamura, Teliamura, Sabroom, Ampinagar, Kadamtala-Kurti and Dhanpur Assembly constituencies on February 26.


Updated:February 23, 2018, 11:24 PM IST
EC Orders Re-polling in Six Booths in Tripura, CPI(M) Fumes
People stand in queues as they wait to cast their vote outside a polling station during Tripura state assembly election on the outskirts of Agartala, India, February 18, 2018. (Images: REUTERS/Jayanta Dey)

Agartala: The Election Commission (EC) today ordered re-polling in six booths in as many Assembly constituencies of Tripura, drawing sharp criticism from the ruling CPI(M), which accused the state election department of failing to conduct a proper election and ''criminal negligence''.

CPI(M) state secretary Bijan Dhar threatened to take political action against those responsible for the "negligence" through movements on the streets, while expressing the party's ire at the EC's decision to order re-polling in the six booths.

He claimed that re-polling was ordered only in constituencies where the Left Front had clear winning prospects and raised questions on the neutrality of the state election department.

The EC ordered re-polling in one polling booth each in Sonamura, Teliamura, Sabroom, Ampinagar, Kadamtala-Kurti and Dhanpur Assembly constituencies on February 26. Dhanpur is the home turf of Chief Minister Manik Sarkar since 1998. The veteran CPI(M) leader has been elected from the constituency for four consecutive terms.

Referring to the glitches in the electronic voting machines (EVMs) at some places on polling day, Dhar told reporters, ''It is now well known how the voters suffered due to an inordinate delay, till midnight, to cast their ballots. This happened because of the incompetence and apathy of the election department officials.''

He wondered what could have caused the delay, despite the deployment of so many poll observers, special observers, micro observers and ''countless'' other officials.

''Chief Electoral Officer Sriram Taranikanti and other officials showed criminal negligence in holding the polls...Nobody will be spared. Every official responsible for this failure in conducting a proper election will have to testify before the people,'' the CPI(M) leader said and questioned whether the poll personnel were properly trained to perform their duties or not.

Dhar said no political party had demanded re-polling in the six booths and claimed that the EC had ordered it on the basis of reports from the state election department.

''We (CPI-M) had demanded re-polling in three booths of the Takarjala constituency, citing specific grounds like voters were prevented from coming to the booths and our polling agents were driven out. But it has not yet been granted. We insist on an answer to our demand for re-polling and shifting of the counting centre from Takarjala because of the violent situation there'', he added.

''This is a clear failure on the part of the election department, which we will protest against...We will identify the officials, right from the CEO to the lowest level, who were responsible and take to the streets, demanding action against them. We have made enough requests and appeals, but now is the time to take political action through movements on the streets'' the Left leader said.

State BJP spokesperson Ashok Sinha welcomed the EC's decision to order re-polling. ''We too were unhappy with the malfunctioning of the EVMs. The EC has taken a well-considered decision and we welcome it," he said.

Polling for 59 of the 60 Assembly seats was held in the north-eastern state on February 18. Polling was countermanded in the Charilam constituency due to the death of CPI(M) candidate Ramendra Narayan Debbarma ahead of the election. The results of the election will declared on March 3.

Get the best of News18 delivered to your inbox - subscribe to News18 Daybreak. Follow News18.com on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, Telegram, TikTok and on YouTube, and stay in the know with what's happening in the world around you – in real time.

| Edited by: Tarun Bhardwaj
Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results