Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English

Lok Sabha Elections 2019Exit Poll Results

All India Figures

Assembly Elections 2019 Exit Poll Results

1-min read

4 Dead, 3 Injured After Boiler Blast Rocks Karnataka Sugar Factory Owned By BJP MLA

The explosion occurred in a treatment plant which is about half a kilometre from the main factory building.

Revathi Rajeevan | CNN-News18

Updated:December 16, 2018, 3:29 PM IST
Bengaluru: Four workers were killed and three injured after a boiler exploded in a sugar factory in Mudhol in Karnataka’s Bagalkote district.

Seven workers were inside when an explosion rocked the factory premises. While three died on the spot, one succumbed to injuries in the hospital.

blast 2

The sugar factory is a unit under the Nirani Sugars Limited, owned by the Nirani brothers — BJP MLA Murugesh Nirani and his brothers Sangamesh and Hanumantha.

Speaking to News18, Murugesh Nirani said the explosion occurred in a treatment plant which is about half a kilometre from the factory. "There are around 1,000 workers in the factory. The blast occurred in a treatment plant about half a kilometer away from the factory where seven people were working today. Three died on the spot, one in the hospital and three are being treated at the hospital,” he said.
More details are awaited.

Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
  • 01 d
  • 12 h
  • 38 m
  • 09 s
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results