LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
Powered by cricketnext logo
3-min read

Sudhir Bhargava New CIC, Govt Appoints Four Information Commissioners

The government has appointed Sudhir Bhargava as the new Chief Information Commissioner (CIC), along with four new Information Commissioners.


Updated:December 31, 2018, 8:26 AM IST
Sudhir Bhargava New CIC, Govt Appoints Four Information Commissioners
File photo of Central Information Commission (Image: PTI)
New Delhi: The government has appointed Sudhir Bhargava as the new Chief Information Commissioner (CIC) along with four new Information Commissioners, sources said. Earlier, the Central Information Commission had only been functioning with just three of Commissioners as opposed to the sanctioned number of 11.

Sources said that Bhargava, who is Information Commissioner in the CIC, has been appointed as new chief of the panel.

President Ram Nath Kovind approved the appointment of former IFS officer Yashwardhan Kumar Sinha, former IRS officer Vanaja N Sarna, former IAS Neeraj Kumar Gupta and former Law Secretary Suresh Chandra as Information Commissioners in the Central Information Commission, according to a government order that was by PTI.

After recent retirements of Chief Information Commissioner R K Mathur and Information Commissioners Yashovardhan Azad, Sridhar Acharyulu and Amitava Bhattacharyya, the Commission, the highest adjudicating authority in RTI matters, was left with three Information Commissioners, prompting activists to approach the Supreme Court on the issue of vacancies.

The Supreme Court had asked the Centre and states to maintain transparency in the appointments of Chief Information Commissioner and Information Commissioners, and upload the details of search committees and applicants on website.

Commenting on the appointment process, Commodore Lokesh Batra, one of the petitioners in the case, said the government has failed to comply with the Supreme Court directions of posting the details on website.

"As my gut feeling said, the government did not comply with the Supreme Court directions viz transparency as it did not post details on its website," Batra told PTI.

During the hearing, the Centre had told the top court that the search committee has shortlisted names for the post of CIC and a final decision will be taken soon.

A bench of Justices A K Sikri, S Abdul Nazeer and R Subhash Reddy asked the Centre to put on the website details of a search committee for CIC and ICs.

Additional Solicitor General Pinky Anand, appearing for the Centre, had informed the court that a total of 65 applications were received for the CIC post and 280 applications for the post of four ICs in the Central Information Commission.

Meanwhile, the Centre seems to have ignored the plea of former Information Commissioner Sridhar Acharyulu who had called for adequate representation of non-bureaucrats in the Commission in accordance with the Right to Information (RTI) Act.

Citing Section 12 (5) of the RTI Act, he had written to the President that the Act provides for selecting people of eminence, having experience in law, science and technology, social service, management, journalism, mass media or administration and governance.

If the government selects more number of former bureaucrats for these posts, it will be a breach of the letter and spirit of the transparency law and more particularly that of Section 12(5) of the RTI Act, which may not stand the scrutiny by the judiciary, he argued.

Yashwardhan Sinha is a 1981-batch Indian Foreign Service officer who served as the High Commissioner of India in the United Kingdom.

The only woman in the CIC will be Vanaja Sarna, a 1980-batch Indian Revenue Service (Customs and Excise) officer, who was the Chief of Central Board of Excise and Customs (CBEC).

Neeraj Kumar Gupta, a 1982-batch IAS officer, was Secretary in the Department of Investment and Public Asset Management.

Chandra, an Indian Legal Service officer, retired as the Union law secretary this year and was also private secretary to the then Law Minister Arun Jaitley between 2002 and 2004.

All the bureaucrats appointed by the government have retired this year.

Catch the biggest newsmakers and the biggest newsbreaks on CNN-News18, the only news destination. Keep watching CNN-News18 at just 50 paise per month. Contact your cable/DTH operator now!

*Rental/capacity fee of Rs. 130/- as charged by cable/DTH operator may apply. **GST extra.
Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
  • 01 d
  • 12 h
  • 38 m
  • 09 s
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results