Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
News18 » India
1-min read

Govt Plans to Split Jammu and Kashmir Into 2 Union Territories - J&K With Legislature and Ladakh Without

While Ladakh will effectively be under the direct rule of the Centre, Jammu and Kashmir will have a legislature along the lines of Delhi and Puducherry.


Updated:August 5, 2019, 2:09 PM IST
Govt Plans to Split Jammu and Kashmir Into 2 Union Territories - J&K With Legislature and Ladakh Without
Paramilitary soldiers stand guard during curfew like restrictions in Jammu and Kashmir on August 5, 2019. (AP Photo/Channi Anand)

New Delhi: The NDA government has decided to bifurcate Jammu and Kashmir into two separate Union Territories – Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh.

While the UT of Ladakh will not have a legislature, effectively bringing it under the direct rule of the Centre, the Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir will have a legislature, along the lines of Delhi and Puducherry.

"The Ladakh Division of the State of Jammu and Kashmir has a large area but is sparsely populated with very difficult terrain. There has been a long-pending demand of the people of Ladakh to give it the status of a Union Territory to enable them to realise their aspirations," a statement from Home Minister Amit Shah said. "The Union Territory of Ladakh will be without Legislature," the statement added.

"Further, keeping in view the prevailing internal security situation, fuelled by cross-border terrorism in the existing State of Jammu and Kashmir, a separate Union Territory for Jammu and Kashmir is being created. The Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir will be with legislature," the statement added.

On Monday, the government had also introduced a resolution to remove Article 370 which provided special state to Jammu and Kashmir.

Former Jammu and Kashmir chief minister Mehbooba Mufti tweeted, "Decision of J&K leadership to reject 2 nation theory in 1947 & align with India has backfired. Unilateral decision of GOI to scrap Article 370 is illegal & unconstitutional which will make India an occupational force in J&K."

"It will have catastrophic consequences for the subcontinent. GOIs intentions are clear. They want the territory of J&K by terrorising its people. India has failed Kashmir in keeping its promises," she added.

Get the best of News18 delivered to your inbox - subscribe to News18 Daybreak. Follow News18.com on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, TikTok and on YouTube, and stay in the know with what's happening in the world around you – in real time.

Subscribe to Moneycontrol Pro and gain access to curated markets data, trading recommendations, equity analysis, investment ideas, insights from market gurus and much more. Get Moneycontrol PRO for 1 year at price of 3 months. Use code FREEDOM.

| Edited by: Nitya Thirumalai
Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results