Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
News18 » India
1-min read

Gujarat Bypoll Results 2019: Congress Wins 2 Seats, Turncoat Dhavalsinh Zala Loses in Bayad

In Radhanpur (Patan district), OBC leader and BJP candidate Alpesh Thakor is trailing behind Congress' Raghu Desai by over 8,700 votes.


Updated:October 24, 2019, 3:47 PM IST
facebookTwitter Pocket whatsapp
Election officials carry out counting of votes. (Photo: PTI)
Election officials carry out counting of votes. (Photo: PTI)

Radhanpur (Patan, Gujarat): ) The Congress won two seats while the BJP bagged one seat on Thursday out of six Assembly bypolls in Gujarat, as per per the results announced by the Election Commission so far.

In the remaining three seats, the Congress was leading in two seats while the BJP was ahead in one seat. Congress candidate Jashu Patel defeated BJP's

Dhavalsinh Zala in Bayad seat of Arvalli district by a margin of over 700 votes.

Before the results were declared by local election officials, Zala accepted his defeat and left the counting centre. In Tharad seat of Banaskantha, Congress candidate Gulabsinh Rajput made a comeback after trailing in the initial hours and defeated BJP's Jivraj Patel by over 6,400 votes.

In Kheralu seat of Mehsana, BJP'sAjmalji Thakor defeated Congress' Babuji Thakor by 29,000 votes. Counting was underway in Radhanpur (Patan), Lunawada (Mahisagar) and Amraiwadi seats (Ahmedabad).

In Radhanpur, OBC leader and BJP candidate Alpesh Thakor was trailing behind Congress' Raghu Desai by over 6,700 votes. In Lunawada, BJP candidate Jignesh Sevak was leading

over Congress' Gulabsinh Chauhan by over 12,000 votes.

In Amraiwadi, Congress' Dharmendra Patel was leading over BJP's Jagdish Patel by over 117 votes.

Get the best of News18 delivered to your inbox - subscribe to News18 Daybreak. Follow News18.com on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, Telegram, TikTok and on YouTube, and stay in the know with what's happening in the world around you – in real time.

| Edited by: ---
Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

facebookTwitter Pocket whatsapp

Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results