Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
News18 » India
1-min read

Gurmeet Ram Rahim Singh Verdict: 22 Trains Through Punjab, Haryana Cancelled

Dera Sacha Sauda chief Gurmeet Ram Rahim Singh will on Friday appear in person before a CBI court in Panchkula in a rape case.

Uday Singh Rana | News18.com@UdaySRana

Updated:August 24, 2017, 2:31 PM IST
Gurmeet Ram Rahim Singh Verdict: 22 Trains Through Punjab, Haryana Cancelled
Tight security in Panchkula ahead of Friday’s verdict. (Chaman Lal/Network18)

New Delhi: The states of Punjab and Haryana are on edge following the court summons to Dera Sacha Sauda chief and self-styled godman Gurmeet Ram Rahim. The two states have been put on high alert amidst reports that Dera followers are stocking up on arms and ammunitions. 150 companies of paramilitary forces have been deployed in Punjab and Haryana. In a fresh development, the Ministry of Railways has decided to cancel 22 trains passing through the two states.

An Indian Railways order states that the trains have been cancelled owing to the “law and order situation in Haryana” and lists 22 trains that have been cancelled. “In view of law and order situation in Haryana following trains are cancelled in above reference,” the order reads.

Following is the list of trains that have been cancelled:

1. 19717 Jaipur-Chandigarh Intercity Mail Express

2. 19718 Chandigarh-Jaipur Intercity Mail Express

3. 14888 Barmer-Kala Mail Express

4. 14887 Kalka-Barmer Mail Express

5. 24888 Barmer-Haridwar Link Express

6. 24887 Haridwar-Barmer Link Express

7. 14616 Firozpur-Chandigarh Express

8. 14613 Chandigarh-Firozpur Express

9. 14095 Himalayan Queen (Delhi Sarai Rohilla-Kalka)/ 14795 Ekta Express (Bhiwani-Kalka)

10. 14096 Himalayan Queen (Delhi Sarai Rohilla-Kalka)/ 14796 Ekta Express (Kalka-Bhiwani)

11. 54531 Ambala-Kalka

12. 54532 Kalka-Ambala

13. 54303 Delhi-Kalka passenger

14. 54304 Kalka-Delhi passenger

15. 74991 Ambala-Andaura passenger

16. 74992 Andaura- Ambala passenger

17. 54757 Ambala-Shri Ganganagar

18. 54758 Shri Ganganagar-Ambala

19. 54556 Bathinda-Ambala passenger

20. 54557 Ambala-Patiala passenger

21. 54558 Patiala-Ambala passenger

22. 54551 Ambala-Bathinda passenger

Get the best of News18 delivered to your inbox - subscribe to News18 Daybreak. Follow News18.com on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, TikTok and on YouTube, and stay in the know with what's happening in the world around you – in real time.

Subscribe to Moneycontrol Pro and gain access to curated markets data, trading recommendations, equity analysis, investment ideas, insights from market gurus and much more. Get Moneycontrol PRO for 1 year at price of 3 months. Use code FREEDOM.

| Edited by: Nitya Thirumalai
Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results