Home » News » India » Hockey: Rajpal, Halappa not in Olympic probables

Hockey: Rajpal, Halappa not in Olympic probables

Hockey: Rajpal, Halappa not in Olympic probables

Rajpal was axed from the 32-man squad for the qualifiers, while Halappa was named as a standby.

New Delhi: Former skippers Rajpal Singh and Arjun Halappa were Monday left out of the list of 48 probables announced by Hockey India for the London Olympics starting from July 27.

With India qualifying for the Games after their 8-1 victory over France at the Olympic qualifiers here Sunday night, chief coach Michael Nobbs and HI selectors held a meeting and unanimously selected the 48 probables.

Rajpal and Halappa were among the 32 probables for the qualifiers but later the former was axed while the latter was named as a standby in the pruned 18-member squad.

The selection committee meeting was attended by Col. Balbir Singh, BP Govinda and Syed Ali besides Government Observers Harbinder Singh and Dilip Tirkey.

Top-ranked team in the qualifiers, India completely dominated the proceedings during the nine-day event at the Dhyan Chand National stadium and the team will next attend a series of coaching camps commencing for the Men Probables at SAI Centre Bangalore from March 5.

In the run-up to Olympics, India will play at various tournaments overseas and has already received invitations for two four nations tournaments at Lahore, Pakistan and Santandar, Spain, besides the Olympic Test Events at London and Sultan Azlan Shah Cup at Ipoh, Malaysia. .

The List of probables:

Goalkeepers - Bharat Chetri, PR Sreejesh, Naveen Kumar, Harmanpreet Singh, Nanak Singh.

Defenders - Sandeep Singh, VR Raghunath, Rupinder Singh, Manjit Kullu, Gurjinder Singh, Harbir Singh, Amit Rohidas, Rahul Shilpkar.

Midfielders - Ignace Tirkey, Kothajit Singh, Sardar Singh, Birendra Lakra, Manpreet Singh, Vikas Sharma, Gurbaj Singh, VS Vinaya, Bharat, Pardeep Mor, SK Uthappa.

Forwards - Yuvraj Walmiki, Tushar Khandker, Shivendra Singh, Danish Mujtaba, Sarvanjit Singh, SV Sunil, Gurvinder Singh Chandi, Pradhan Sommanna, Roshan Minz, Malak Singh, Akashdeep Singh, Chinglensana Singh Kangujam, Ramandeep Singh Nithin Timmaiah, Dharamvir Singh, Mandip Antil, MB Aiyappa Gurmail Singh, Arjun Antil, Damandeep Singh, Prabhdeep Singh, Ranjit Singh, Mandip Singh, MG Poonacha.
first published:February 27, 2012, 17:24 IST