Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
News18 » India
1-min read

In Major Reshuffle, Anandiben Patel Replaces Ram Naik as UP Governor, 5 Others Transferred

In a statement released by the Rashtrapati Bhavan, Jagdeep Dhankhar has been appointed as the Governor of West Bengal. Ramesh Bais has been appointed as the Governor of Tripura.


Updated:July 20, 2019, 6:34 PM IST
facebookTwitter Pocket whatsapp

New Delhi: In a major rejig, Madhya Pradesh Governor and former Chief Minister of Gujarat Anandiben Patel has been transferred and appointed as the new Governor of Uttar Pradesh after the Centre on Saturday appointed six new Governors in MP, UP, West Bengal, Bihar, Nagaland and Tripura.

The announcement was made in a statement released by the Rashtrapati Bhavan. “The appointments will take effect from the dates they assume charge of their respective offices,” the communique said.

Senior Supreme Court advocate Jagdeep Dhankhar was appointed as the new Governor of West Bengal, replacing Keshari Nath Tripathi.

Dhankhar, 68, who was Union deputy minister of parliamentary affairs in 1990-1991, quit the Congress in 2003 and became a member of the BJP.

BJP member Ramesh Bais has been appointed as the Governor of Tripura, replacing Kaptan Singh Solanki.

Lal Ji Tandon, who is at present the Governor of Bihar, has been transferred and appointed as the Governor of Madhya Pradesh, the statement said.

Tandon replaces Anandiben who has now got the charge of Uttar Pradesh, while Phagu Chauhan has been appointed as the Governor of Bihar and RN Ravi has been appointed as the Governor of Nagaland.

With Anandiben’s appointment, this is the first time that UP will get a woman Governor since its inception in 1950. Sarojini Naidu was the first Governor in 1947 but the state was then known as the United Provinces.

Earlier this week, sitting Rajya Sabha member Anusuiya Uikey and senior BJP leader Biswa Bushan Harichandan were appointed as governors of Chhattisgarh and Andhra Pradesh respectively.

Get the best of News18 delivered to your inbox - subscribe to News18 Daybreak. Follow News18.com on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, Telegram, TikTok and on YouTube, and stay in the know with what's happening in the world around you – in real time.

| Edited by: ---
Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

facebookTwitter Pocket whatsapp

Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results