Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
Needmore seats to Win
Needmore seats to Win
2-min read

Jammu Gets Ready for Local Body Elections on October 8, 584 Polling Stations to be Set Up

A total of 4,42,159 electorate will vote to elect their representatives among 743 candidates at 584 polling stations, district election officer Ramesh Kumar said.


Updated:October 7, 2018, 12:00 AM IST
Jammu Gets Ready for Local Body Elections on October 8, 584 Polling Stations to be Set Up
File photo of elections in Jammu and Kashmir. (Reuters)
Jammu: As many as 584 polling stations will be set up in Jammu where the first phase of the four-phased local body elections will take place on October 8, officials said on Saturday.

A total of 4,42,159 electorate will vote to elect their representatives among 743 candidates at 584 polling stations, including 505 polling stations for municipal corporation Jammu and 79 for municipal committees, district election officer Ramesh Kumar said.

While 447 candidates are in the fray for the 75 wards of municipal corporation Jammu, 296 candidates are trying their luck in the 79 wards of seven municipal committees. A total of 422 wards spread over various districts of Jammu and Kashmir are going to polls in the first phase.

Kumar said the district administration has made foolproof security arrangements for the smooth conduct of the polls. Adequate security would be deployed at the identified hypersensitive and sensitive polling stations, he said, adding that micro observers have also been appointed to monitor 46 hyper-sensitive polling stations. The voting will be from 7am to 4pm, he said.

For the first time, electronic voting machines (EVMs) will be used in the polls, for which proper training has been imparted to the polling staff.

Kumar, who is also the district development commissioner, said a joint control room of police and civil administration has been set up for the smooth flow of election related information.
He said the administration has declared October 8 as a holiday in the poll bound areas to ensure maximum voter turnout.

Earlier, the DEO reviewed the arrangements by the district administration for the smooth conduct of the elections in a meeting. A detailed discussion was held on various issues pertaining to enforcement of model code of conduct, functioning of zonal and sectoral magistrates and observers, deployment of manpower and election material for polling stations.

Transport management, dispatch of polling parties, communication plans, collection centre, counting plan and poll day arrangements, communication plan and monitoring besides security arrangements and maintaining law order also came up for detailed discussion during the meeting, an official spokesman said.
(Get detailed and live results of each and every seat in the Lok Sabha elections and state Assembly elections in Andhra Pradesh, Odisha, Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim to know which candidate/party is leading or trailing and to know who has won and who has lost and by what margin. Our one-of-its-kind Election Analytics Centre lets you don a psephologist’s hat and turn into an election expert. Know interesting facts and trivia about the elections and see our informative graphics. Elections = News18)
Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
  • 01 d
  • 12 h
  • 38 m
  • 09 s
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results