GET Stock QuotesNews18 APP
News18 English
Powered by cricketnext logo
1-min read

Kailash Satyarthi's House Burgled; Nobel Prize Replica, Jewellery Stolen

Child Activist Kailash Satyarthi’s Nobel Prize replica along with other valuable items including jewellery went missing from his South Delhi house.

Nitisha Kashyap | CNN-News18

Updated:February 7, 2017, 1:38 PM IST

New Delhi: Child rights activist Kailash Satyarthi's South Delhi house was burgled on Monday evening and thieves made away with his Nobel Prize replica along with other valuable items including some jewellery, Police said on Tuesday.

Satyarthi who resides in Alaknanda apartment is currently in Panama when the incident happened, police added.

Police said they received a call about the alleged theft of the citation and teams are at the spot to get details of the items stolen.

The matter was first reported to the police by a man who collects laundry after he found the door open and no one responded to his repeated calls.

Satyarthi, a child rights-education activist and the founder of the Bachpan Bachao Andolan, won the Nobel Peace Prize in 2014, which he shared with Pakistan's Malala Yousafzai.

A complaint has been lodged and investigations are underway.

On March 25, 2004, Rabindra Nath Tagore's Nobel medallion and 47 other memorabilia including his gold watch went missing from Uttarayan complex of Visva Bharati University in Shantiniketan.

Tagore had received the Nobel Prize in 1931 for literature.

(Get detailed and live results of each and every seat of the state Assemblies in Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Telangana, Chhattisgarh and Mizoram to know which candidate/party is leading or trailing and to know who has won and who has lost and by what margin. Our one-of-its-kind Election Analytics Centre lets you put on the psephologist's hat. Know interesting facts and trivia about the elections. Elections = News18)
| Edited by: Sujit Nath
Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
  • 01 d
  • 12 h
  • 38 m
  • 09 s
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results