Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
News18 » India
1-min read

Kanhaiya Kumar’s Car Pelted With Stones in Indore

Protesters from Bharat Swabhiman Manch, insisted those “talking about dividing the country" won’t be allowed to address a lecture in Indore.

Vivek Trivedi | News18.com

Updated:August 9, 2017, 11:03 PM IST
Kanhaiya Kumar’s Car Pelted With Stones in Indore
File photo of former JNUSU president Kanhaiya Kumar. (PTI)

Indore: Former JNU student union president Kanhaiya Kumar’s car was pelted with stones by unknown people at the BRTS corridor in Indore. The windshield of the car was smashed but Kumar escaped unhurt, police said.

Kumar was in Indore to address a lecture at local Anand Mohar Mathur auditorium but faced stiff protests. Volunteers of a local outfit, Bharat Swabhiman Manch, also showed black flags to Kumar and tried to storm the auditorium, claiming they would not let him hold the lecture.

Police tried to persuade them to back off but they entered into heated arguments with the cops. They insisted that those “talking about dividing the country won’t be allowed to address the event.” They also threatened to blacken faces of Kumar and the organisers.

Some of the protesters, armed with sticks, smashed windows of the four wheelers parked near the venue. The policemen used mild force and dispersed the mob.

However, after the function, the car carrying the student leader was pelted with stones at BRTS corridor. The police had taken Kumar out of the event venue amid tight security but some unknown people, presumably the volunteers of Bharat Swabhiman Manch, pelted stones on the vehicle.

Get the best of News18 delivered to your inbox - subscribe to News18 Daybreak. Follow News18.com on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, TikTok and on YouTube, and stay in the know with what's happening in the world around you – in real time.

Subscribe to Moneycontrol Pro and gain access to curated markets data, trading recommendations, equity analysis, investment ideas, insights from market gurus and much more. Get Moneycontrol PRO for 1 year at price of 3 months. Use code FREEDOM.

| Edited by: Aakarshuk Sarna
Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results