Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
1-min read

Lal Ji Tandon, UP BJP Stalwart and Bihar Governor, Moved to MP; Here's All About the Leader

Lal Ji Tandon has served as the leader of the opposition from the BJP in Uttar Pradesh from 2003-2007. He has also been Member of Parliament from Lucknow.


Updated:July 21, 2019, 7:47 AM IST
Lal Ji Tandon, UP BJP Stalwart and Bihar Governor, Moved to MP; Here's All About the Leader
Lal Ji Tandon, Bihar Governor Transferred to Madhya Pradesh in a Major Reshuffle

New Delhi: Lal Ji Tandon will soon replace Anandiben Patel as the Governor of Madhya Pradesh as the latter was transferred to Uttar Pradesh on Saturday, according to a Rashtrapati Bhavan communique.

Lal Ji Tandon began his political career from his hometown Lucknow in the 1970s. He served as the Urban Development Minister in UP cabinet under Mayawati and Kalyan Singh. He was also the member of Legislative Council for two terms.

Tandon was close to the former Prime Minsiter Atal Bihari Vajpayee. He successfully contested the Lok Sabha elections from Lucknow in 2009.

Madhya Pradesh is ruled by the Congress party with Kamal Nath as the Chief Minister. Congress won the assembly elections last year with a narrow margin. But the stability of the Congress government, which has been surviving on a wafer-thin majority with support from allies, has been threatened especially after the recent developments in Karnataka and Goa.

In the 230-member MP Assembly, the Congress has 114 legislators and the support of two MLAs of the Bahujan Samaj Party, one from the Samajwadi Party, and four Independents, while the BJP has 109 lawmakers.

Verbal spats are frequent between leaders of the grand old party and the BJP in the state, with the latter regularly predicting the downfall of the Nath government.

Get the best of News18 delivered to your inbox - subscribe to News18 Daybreak. Follow News18.com on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, TikTok and on YouTube, and stay in the know with what's happening in the world around you – in real time.

Subscribe to Moneycontrol Pro and gain access to curated markets data, trading recommendations, equity analysis, investment ideas, insights from market gurus and much more. Get Moneycontrol PRO for 1 year at price of 3 months. Use code FREEDOM.

Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results