LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
1-min read

Muslims Are Hindu by Nationality, Says RSS Chief Mohan Bhagwat

RSS chief Mohan Bhagwat addressing a mega Hindu convention here on Wednesday said that Muslims are Muslims by Ibadat (religious faith) but by Aadat (habits) they are Hindus.

Vivek Trivedi | Pradesh18

Updated:February 8, 2017, 11:53 PM IST
Muslims Are Hindu by Nationality, Says RSS Chief Mohan Bhagwat
RSS chief Mohan Bhagwat. (PTI Photo)

Betul: Addressing a mega Hindu convention here on Wednesday, RSS chief Mohan Bhagwat said Muslims are Muslims by ibadat (religious faith), but by aadat (habits) they are Hindus.

Bhagwat, who earlier visited Betul Central Jail for paying obeisance to RSS ideologue MS Golwalkar, said at the convention that everyone residing in India is a Hindu.

Bhagwat’s remarks come barely two days ahead of the first phase of polling in UP that takes place on February 11 and, according to political analysts, could impact voting.

Bhagwat said British reside in Britain, Americans in America and Hindus in Hindustan. “Muslims can pray to Allah. Why can’t they take part in aarti. What is the issue if Muslims take part in Bharat Mata aarti.”

Earlier in the day, he went to Betul Central Jail and visited barrack number 1 where Golwalkar was lodged as an undertrial. According to RSS records, Golwalkar was kept in the jail from February 13, 1949 to July 13, 1949.

The Congress later objected to Bhagwat’s visit. “He does not hold a constitutional post. So his entry to jail premises breaches the jail manual,” said Congress spokesperson KK Mishra.

Catch the Biggest Newsmakers and the Biggest Newsbreaks on CNN-News18, your favourite English TV news channel. Keep watching CNN-News18 at just 50 Paise per Month. Contact your cable /DTH operator Now!
*Rental / capacity fee of Rs.130/- as charged by cable / DTH operator may apply. **GST extra.

| Edited by: Ashish Yechury
Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
  • 01 d
  • 12 h
  • 38 m
  • 09 s
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results