Home » News » India » PM Modi's 5-Nation Tour Is India's Biggest Push for NSG

PM Modi's 5-Nation Tour Is India's Biggest Push for NSG

By: Anchal Vohra


Last Updated: June 07, 2016, 20:10 IST

File Photo of Prime Minister Narendra Modi

File Photo of Prime Minister Narendra Modi

India has entered the 34 nation missile technology control regime (MTCR).

Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s 5-nation tour that began on Monday could be India’s biggest push for membership into the 48 member Nuclear Suppliers Group (NSG) .

According to sources, the 5-nation tour was planned keeping the NSG membership in mind.

In fact the decision to visit Switzerland and Mexico were also with the idea of getting support from these member countries.

Ahead of the important meeting of member countries on June 9th in Vienna, India is trying its best to build a consensus in its favor.

It is also collecting endorsements from countries like Turkey, South Africa, New Zealand and Argentina who seem reluctant to give a final go ahead.

Top MEA officials have also rushed to these countries to pitch India’s case with at least three secretaries asked to assuage any concerns raised by them.

Sujata Mehta - Secretary West and Preeti Saran - Secretary East are among the three officials who have been sent to convince the reluctant nations to offer support.

As per sources, India’s main strategy is to isolate China who is playing a pivotal role in denying India’s entry into the nuclear club.

According to Indian diplomats, India has finally managed to enter the missile technology control regime (MTCR) on Monday giving a boost to the country's efforts to purchase Predator drones from the US and export its high-tech missiles to friendly nations. .

Earlier, Italy was opposed to India’s entry in the 34-nation MTCR after the arrest of two Italian marines who were accused of killing Indian fishermen.

But with the release of Italian marines, India’s application for MTCR has been given a go ahead which in turn has further strengthened India's case for NSG.

first published:June 07, 2016, 19:51 IST
last updated:June 07, 2016, 20:10 IST