Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
2-min read

Presidential Election 2017: Just Few Days to Go

The time has come to bid farewell to our President Pranab Mukherjee as his term expires on July 24.

News18 Specials

Updated:July 4, 2017, 7:19 PM IST
Presidential Election 2017: Just Few Days to Go
File photo of former President Pranab Mukherjee. (PTI)
The time has come to bid farewell to our President Pranab Mukherjee as his term expires on July 24. The elections will be held on July 17 and counting will be done on July 20. BJP president, Amit Shah announced Ram Nath Kovind, the Governor of Bihar as the upcoming presidential candidate in Opposition to the Indian National Congress' nominee Meira Kumar, the former Lok Sabha Speaker.

The Constitution of Republic India declared the presidential post in the year 1950 and Rajendra Prasad was elected as the first President of India. Rajendra Prasad was not only a great leader from Bihar but he was also a supporter of Mahatma Gandhi. Many people were influenced by his dedication and prodigy, during the Indian Independence Movement. He is the only person to hold office for two consecutive years from 1950 to 1962.

Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan, an Indian philosopher was the second President of India from 1962 to 1967. He was also the first Vice President of India from 1952 to 1960. His greatest contribution was creating an understanding of Hinduism, in India as well as West. He has been honoured by many high awards like the Knighthood in 1931, the Bharat Ratna in 1954 and Order of Merit in 1963.

India has had 13 full time Presidents, since the Constitution of India was adopted in 1950; namely Rajendra Prasad, Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan, Varahagiri Venkata Giri, Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed, Neelam Sanjiva Reddy, Giani Zail Singh, Shankar Dayal Sharma, KR Narayanan, APJ Abdul Kalam, Pratibha Patil and Pranab Mukherjee.

Now, either of the two upcoming presidential candidates, Ram Nath Kovind and Meira Kumar, would take on the term as next President of India. As per the political expers, Ram Nath Kovind has more chances over Meira Kumar winning the battle, as BJP has majority in both Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha and also in most of the state legislative assemblies. Now, July 20 will unfold the mystery and bring forward a deserving candidate to be nominated as President of India.
(Get detailed and live results of each and every seat in the Lok Sabha elections and state Assembly elections in Andhra Pradesh, Odisha, Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim to know which candidate/party is leading or trailing and to know who has won and who has lost and by what margin. Our one-of-its-kind Election Analytics Centre lets you don a psephologist’s hat and turn into an election expert. Know interesting facts and trivia about the elections and see our informative graphics. Elections = News18)
| Edited by: Bijaya Das
Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
  • 01 d
  • 12 h
  • 38 m
  • 09 s
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results