Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
News18 » India
2-min read

Punjab CM Amarinder Singh to Lead All-party Delegation to Kartarpur Sahib on November 9

Amarinder Singh made the announcement while reviewing the progress on works related to the 550th birth anniversary celebrations of the Sikhism founder at Dera Baba Nanak in Gurdaspur.


Updated:September 25, 2019, 7:37 PM IST
Amarinder Singh
Punjab Chief Minister Amarinder Singh. (File photo/PTI)

Chandigarh: Punjab Chief Minister Amarinder Singh on Wednesday said he will lead an all-party delegation across the border to the historic Gurdwara Darbar Sahib--final resting place of Sikhism founder Guru Nanak Dev--on the opening of the Kartarpur corridor on November 9.

Amarinder Singh made the announcement while reviewing the progress on works related to the 550th birth anniversary celebrations of the Sikhism founder at Dera Baba Nanak in Gurdaspur.

The delegation that will accompany the chief minister to the historic gurdwara in Pakistan would comprise all 117 Punjab MLAs, state Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha MPs, SGPC members, members of the sant samaj and representatives of each recognised political party in the state, an official statement said.

During the review meeting, Amarinder also announced that the Dera Baba Nanak road leading to the corridor would be named after the late Akali leader Kuldeep Singh Wadala.

Saying that the occasion was a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity, the chief minister asked state Finance Minister Manpreet Singh Badal to ensure a regular outflow of funds for all projects connected with the celebrations.

If necessary, he could even cut the financial allocation of any other department, the CM told the finance minister.

He directed the chief secretary to finalise the schedule of activities and put it in the public domain by October.

Underlining the need to disseminate all necessary information regarding the main events, the Chief Minister asked the state organising committee to prepare a detailed audio-visual campaign to enable the devotees plan their journey in advance.

He directed the department concerned to design an information handbook detailing all events for the facilitation of the devotees.

Regarding the "tent city" being set up at Dera Baba Nanak, the chief minister directed the principal secretary (tourism) to ensure a complete coordination between all departments.

Earlier, the principal secretary of the Local Government Department informed that Rs 271 crore had been approved for Dera Baba Nanak by the Centre under the Smart City project.

The Kartarpur corridor will connect the Darbar Sahib in Pakistan's Kartarpur with the Dera Baba Nanak shrine in Gurdaspur district of Indian Punjab.

It will facilitate a visa-free movement for pilgrims, who will just have to obtain a permit to visit Kartarpur Sahib.

Pakistan is building the corridor from the Indian border to Gurdwara Darbar Sahib in Kartarpur, while the other part from Dera Baba Nanak in Gurdaspur up to the border is being built by India.

Get the best of News18 delivered to your inbox - subscribe to News18 Daybreak. Follow News18.com on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, Telegram, TikTok and on YouTube, and stay in the know with what's happening in the world around you – in real time.

Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results