GET Stock QuotesNews18 APP
News18 English
Powered by cricketnext logo
1-min read

SC Questions Centre on Procedure to Appoint Election Commission Chief

The top court’s observation came a day after Achal Kumar Joti was appointed to succeed Nasim Zaidi as the poll panel’s chief

Utkarsh Anand | CNN-News18

Updated:July 5, 2017, 12:45 PM IST
New Delhi: The Supreme Court on Wednesday questioned the Centre on the procedure to appoint the Chief Election Commissioner and Election Commissioners, asking why no law or statute was in place to guide such appointments.

The top court’s observation came a day after Achal Kumar Joti was appointed to succeed Nasim Zaidi as the poll panel’s chief.

A bench comprising Chief Justice JS Khehar and Justice DY Chandrachud said that Article 324 of the Constitution provides that the appointments of the CEC and the ECs be made as per the enabling law, but the law has not been enacted so far.

The Election Commission should have people neutral to all political parties, it said. “Parliament has not made any law. Your (government’s) only explanation is that competent people have been appointed from time to time.”

"The expectation is that Parliament will make the law. If the law has not been made then can the court lay down the procedures," the bench asked Solicitor General Ranjit Kumar, representing the Centre.

The bench was hearing a PIL filed by one Anoop Paranwal through lawyer Prashant Bhushan seeking various reliefs, including that there should be a fair and transparent procedure for appointment of CEC and ECs, PTI reported.

The PIL has referred to the independent procedure of appointment of judges in the higher judiciary and said that similar kind of procedures may be laid down with regard to the appointments of CEC and ECs in the poll panel.

Joti, 64, was the chief secretary of Gujarat when Prime Minister Narendra Modi was the state’s Chief Minister. He will take over as the head of the Election Commission on July 6.

(Get detailed and live results of each and every seat of the state Assemblies in Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Telangana, Chhattisgarh and Mizoram to know which candidate/party is leading or trailing and to know who has won and who has lost and by what margin. Our one-of-its-kind Election Analytics Centre lets you put on the psephologist's hat. Know interesting facts and trivia about the elections. Elections = News18)
| Edited by: Aditya Nair
Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
  • 01 d
  • 12 h
  • 38 m
  • 09 s
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results