Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
News18 » India
2-min read

Scott Barr hopes to raise the bar at SAIL-SBI Open

Barr came agonisingly close to a maiden Asian Tour title at last year's event losing out to India's Anirban Lahiri.


Updated:March 4, 2013, 5:54 PM IST
Scott Barr hopes to raise the bar at SAIL-SBI Open
Barr came agonisingly close to a maiden Asian Tour title at last year's event losing out to India's Anirban Lahiri.

New Delhi: A fired-up Scott Barr of Australia is all set to tee up at the SAIL-SBI Open on Wednesday at the Delhi Golf Club. Barr came agonisingly close to a maiden Asian Tour title at last year's event when he led by one shot with two holes remaining but his hopes ran aground with a costly triple bogey six on the penultimate par-three hole.

The Singapore-based Australian eventually ended one shot shy of the play-off duo of Anirban Lahiri of India and Thailand's Prom Meesawat. Lahiri subsequently won the title in extra time and will defend it at the venerable course against a top line-up. Multiple winners Gaganjeet Bhullar of India, Sweden's Rikard Karlberg, who has won twice in India, and Myanmar Open champion Chawalit Plaphol of Thailand will be among the leading stars as the Asian Tour continues its 10th season after establishing itself as a players' organisation in 2004.

Local stars Shiv Kapur and Jyoti Randhawa, along with 25 of the top-61 players from the final 2012 Order of Merit, will also feature in the $300,000 tournament, which is in its sixth edition, being one of four Asian Tour tournaments staged in India. "I played really well at the SAIL-SBI Open last year. Obviously, I'm going there again with the intention to play to my best ability, which I hope is good enough to put me in contention," said Barr, who finished 21st on the Merit list last season.

"We all know the Delhi Golf Club can tear you to pieces if you hit your ball a bit off line. Unfortunately that happened to me. I just hit one bad shot and was out of contention," recalled the 40-year-old. "I changed quite a bit in my game this season - the way I'm swinging it, the putting style and the putter. I've been putting in quite an effort so hopefully it starts to pay off."

American Ben Fox is also eager to launch a title run. Last season, he started his 2012 campaign with five straight top-10s, including a fourth place finish at the SAIL-SBI Open. However, Fox fell off the radar in the second half of the season after failing to adjust to changes made in his swing. "I've been struggling with the game in the last five or six months but the game is starting to get a little better. I'll try to get comfortable on a course that I've played well in the past. Hopefully I can get some momentum and get back into the swing of things," said the 25-year-old American.

Do you think Anirban Lahiri can defend his title SAIL-SBI Open title?

Get the best of News18 delivered to your inbox - subscribe to News18 Daybreak. Follow News18.com on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, TikTok and on YouTube, and stay in the know with what's happening in the world around you – in real time.

Subscribe to Moneycontrol Pro and gain access to curated markets data, trading recommendations, equity analysis, investment ideas, insights from market gurus and much more. Get Moneycontrol PRO for 1 year at price of 3 months. Use code FREEDOM.

Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results