LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
Powered by cricketnext logo
1-min read

Zakir Musa’s Deputy Among 6 Militants Killed in Tral Encounter, ‘War-Like’ Stores Seized

Soon after news of the encounter spread, clashes erupted between security forces and protesters near the site.

Updated:December 22, 2018, 12:28 PM IST
Zakir Musa’s Deputy Among 6 Militants Killed in Tral Encounter, ‘War-Like’ Stores Seized
One of the militants killed in the operation was identified as Ansar Gazwatul Hind militant Soliha Mohammad.
Srinagar: Six militants of the Al Qaeda-linked and Zakir Musa-led outfit Ansar Ghazwatul Hind were killed on Saturday in a gunfight with security forces in Tral area of Jammu and Kashmir's Pulwama district.

"Six terrorists have been killed in the Tral area encounter. Weapons and war-like stores have been recovered. The operation is over," Defence Ministry spokesman Colonel Rajesh Kalia said.

Among those killed was Soliha, alias Rehaan Khan, the deputy chief of Zakir Musa.

Mobile internet service in the district and rail services between the Valley and the Bannihal town of Jammu region were suspended.

Soldiers of Rashtriya Rifles (RR), troopers of Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) and special operations group (SOG) men surrounded Arampora village early on following specific inputs about militant presence, a police officer said.

"As the cordon was tightened, the militants fired triggering the encounter in which six militants were killed belonging to Zakir Musa outfit, Ansar Ghazwatul Hind.

"Exact identity of the other slain militants is being ascertained," the police officer added.

Catch the biggest newsmakers and the biggest newsbreaks on CNN-News18, the only news destination. Keep watching CNN-News18 at just 50 paise per month. Contact your cable/DTH operator now!

*Rental/capacity fee of Rs. 130/- as charged by cable/DTH operator may apply. **GST extra.
Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
  • 01 d
  • 12 h
  • 38 m
  • 09 s
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results