Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
News18 » India
1-min read

Top Naxals Ganapathy and Basavraj Named in Gadchiroli Attack FIR

An IED blast in Kurkheda tehsil of Gadchiroli district killed 15 policemen and a driver who were on their way to a site where Naxals had earlier torched 25 vehicles.


Updated:May 5, 2019, 10:21 PM IST
Top Naxals Ganapathy and Basavraj Named in Gadchiroli Attack FIR
File photo of the mangled remains of a police vehicle, carrying security personnel that was blasted by Maoists in Gadchiroli.

Mumbai: Top functionaries of the proscribed Communist Party of India (Maoist) and at least 120 others have been named in the police case registered in connection with the IED blast in Gadchiroli district of Maharashtra on May 1 that killed 15 policemen and a driver.

The incident took place near Jambhurkheda village in Kurkheda tehsil of the district, over 900km from here, when jawans of Gadchiroli police's Quick Response Team were on their way to a site where Naxals had earlier torched 25 vehicles.

The case has been registered at Purada police station in Gadchiroli district, an official said on Sunday.

CPI (Maoist) former general secretary Muppala Lakshman Rao alias Ganapathy, current chief Nambala Keshav Rao alias Basavraj, who was earlier head of the Maoists' "Central Military Commission", are the top functionaries of the banned outfit named in the FIR.

The others include Mallojulla alias Venugopal Rao alias Bhupathi who is in-charge of the Naxal "red corridor" centred around Lalgarh in West Bengal's West Midnapore district, an official said.

Top Maoist operatives like Katakam Sudarshan, better known by his nom de guerre Anand, Satyanarayan Reddy, Milind Teltumbde and Bhaskar Rao Hichkani have also been named as accused, he added.

The others are Puluri Prasad Rao alias Chandranna, Lokati Chandran Rao, Gokul Madavi, Navluram Tulavi, Dinkar Gotta, Vilas Kolla, Jagdish Tekam, Madhu Mansing Tekam, Umesh Waddo, Maini Bogga, Vinod Bogga and Kedar Pijjo, all operating at different levels of the Naxal hierarchy, the official said.

Puluri, Madhu and Maini are the women cadre, he said.

The Naxals have been charged under sections 302 (murder), 353 (assault or criminal force to deter public servant from discharge of his duty), 143 (member of an unlawful assembly), 147 (common intention), 120 (B) (criminal conspiracy) of the Indian Penal Code, besides sections 5 and 28 of the Arms Act and under provisions of the Maharashtra Police Act.

Sections 16, 18, 20, 23 of the stringent Unlawful Activities (Prevention) Act have also been invoked against them in the case.

Get the best of News18 delivered to your inbox - subscribe to News18 Daybreak. Follow News18.com on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, Telegram, TikTok and on YouTube, and stay in the know with what's happening in the world around you – in real time.

Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results