LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English

UP Live: At BJP Parliamentary Party Meet, Modi Asks MPs to Promote BHIM App Among Traders | March 16, 2017, 4:00 PM IST
facebook Twitter skype whatapps
A meeting of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) parliamentary party is underway to discuss the party’s CM choice for Uttarkhand and Uttar Pradesh, where it won by a thumping majority. Frontrunners in UP include Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh, BJP's UP state chief Keshav Prasad Maurya and Union Minister Manoj Sinha.

Stay tuned for live updates
Mar 16, 2017 4:00 pm (IST)

Click to read: SP MLAs Authorise Akhilesh Yadav to Name Leader of Opposition

A meeting of the newly-elected Samajwadi Party MLAs on Thursday authorised its national president Akhilesh Yadav to decide the name of the Leader of the Opposition.

Mar 16, 2017 3:27 pm (IST)

UP BJP chief Keshav Prasad Maurya out of the UP CM race, will decide who will take the top post in the state

Mar 16, 2017 3:15 pm (IST)

BJP chief Amit Shah confirms that Uttar Pradesh BJP chief Keshav Prasad Maurya will select the chief minister for the state

Mar 16, 2017 1:20 pm (IST)

Click to read: Harvard Business Review Calls UP Results a Victory for 'Big Narrative'

A paper published in the prestigious Harvard Business Review says that the results of the Uttar Pradesh elections indicate that it was Prime Minister Narendra Modi's "Big Narrative", rather than "big data", which won a landslide for the Bharatiya Janata Party.

Mar 16, 2017 1:19 pm (IST)

CNN-News18's Pranshu Mishra reports: Samajwadi Party's legislative party meet ends with resolution authorising Akhilesh to elect the leader of the party in Vidhan Sabha. For the first time Akhilesh Yadav and Shivpal Yadav along with Azam Khan sat together on the dias and addressed the gathering. Shivpal said-- it is a tough time for the party, together we will have to fight and struggle. Hitting out at the saffron party he said, BJP's lies have won.

Mar 16, 2017 12:04 pm (IST)

Meanwhile in Samajwadi Party: SP to hold national executive meeting in Lucknow on March 25. It will be party's first national executive in which Akhilesh Yadav will be present as the party president

Mar 16, 2017 11:21 am (IST)

With the Lok Sabha polls just two years away, Amit Shah asks MPs to gear up for the elections

Mar 16, 2017 11:18 am (IST)

Youth should be made the ambassadors of good work of the government

Mar 16, 2017 11:12 am (IST)

Home Minister Rajnath Singh moved a resolution congratulating Prime Minister Narendra Modi for the massive victory in Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand Assembly elections

Mar 16, 2017 10:55 am (IST)

According to sources, Prime Minister Narendra Modi congratulated party workers and MPs for the landslide victory in UP during the first BJP parliamentary party meeting after elections. “He welcomed MPs for showing caution during election campaign and not making unwanted statements. He asked MPs to promote the BHIM app among small-scale traders and organise celebrations from April 6 (BJP’s Foundation Day) to April 14 (Ambedkar Jayanthi). 

Mar 16, 2017 10:25 am (IST)

Click to read: Captain Amarinder Singh Sworn in as Punjab CM, Navjot Singh Sidhu Among 7 Cabinet Ministers

Captain Amarinder Singh took oath as the 26th Chief Minister of Punjab on Thursday in a simple ceremony attended by senior Congress leaders. The oath was administered by Punjab Governor VP Singh Badnore at the Raj Bhavan.

Mar 16, 2017 10:08 am (IST)

Captain Amarinder Singh to take oath as the chief minister of Punjab at 10:17am, senior Congress leaders, including Raj Babbar, Ambika Soni, Pawan Bansal, Ajay Maken are attending the ceremony in Chandigarh

Mar 16, 2017 10:04 am (IST)

BJP chief Amit Shah felicitates Prime Minister Narendra Modi

Mar 16, 2017 9:48 am (IST)

Meeting of the BJP parliamentary party begins after Prime Minister Narendra Modi's arrival. (Image courtesy: Umesh Sharma/Network18)

Mar 16, 2017 9:38 am (IST)

Stage set for Amarinder Singh's swearing-in ceremony

Mar 16, 2017 9:35 am (IST)

Meanwhile in Samajwadi Party, the party will hold legislative party meeting at 11 am today. Shivpal Yadav is most likely to give it a miss...Mulayam Singh has also not been invited.( Though technically he need not be invited, but then in the given circumstances many were hoping that he would be called. In the letter sent to the newly elected MLAs by SP state president Naresh Uttam, the meeting had been called at 11 AM. The cc of the letter has been sent to National President Akhilesh and National General secretary Ram Gopal Yadav, but not to MSY)                   

Mar 16, 2017 9:22 am (IST)

Click to read: Amarinder Does Not Want a Vice Captain, Sidhu Will Be Just a Minister

Singh said that but for exceptions there was precedent of the state having a deputy chief minister.

Mar 16, 2017 9:03 am (IST)

In Punjab, taking oath along with Amarinder Singh as Cabinet ministers will be Braham Mohindra, Navjot Singh Sidhu, Manpreet Singh Badal, Sadhu Singh Dharmsot, Tript Tajinder Singh Bajwa, Rana Gurjit Singh and Charanjit Singh Channi. Aruna Chaudhary and Razia Sultana will be Ministers of State.

Mar 16, 2017 8:57 am (IST)
Mar 16, 2017 8:57 am (IST)

BSP chief Mayawati has said her party will approach the court against the alleged rigging of Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) in favour of the BJP. She has demanded a re-polling in the state, this time using ballot papers. The BJP has dismissed the allegation, asking the BSP leader to accept the verdict "gracefully".

Mar 16, 2017 8:33 am (IST)

Who will be the CM pick for Uttarakhand: In the hill state the race has narrowed down to Trivendra Singh, Prakash Pant and Satpal. Trivendra, who is the MLA from Doiwala, is the frontrunner and close to BJP chief Amit Shah. He was in-charge of Jharkhand and was Co in-charge of UP during 2014 general elections. He also comes from the RSS stock, reports CNN-News18's Sumit Pandey.

Mar 16, 2017 8:13 am (IST)

In Punjab, Captain Amarinder Singh will be sworn-in as the state's 26th Chief Minister as the Congress returns to power after 10 years. The swearing-in ceremony will be held at 10am.

Mar 16, 2017 8:07 am (IST)

The BJP’s parliamentary party will meet at 9:30am today to discuss the possible names. If the top brass go with Rajnath Singh then Prime Minister Narendra Modi will have to fill another vacancy in his Cabinet. Finance Minister Arun Jaitley has been given the additional charge of Defence portfolio following Parrikar’s shift to Goa

Mar 16, 2017 8:05 am (IST)

Probable CM picks in Uttar Pradesh include Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh, BJP’s UP state chief Keshav Prasad Maurya and Union minister Manoj Sinha. 

Mar 16, 2017 8:04 am (IST)

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is yet to announce its CM pick for Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand, the only two states that are yet to get a Chief Minister after the recently concluded Assembly elections in five states. Former defence minister Manohar Parrikar took oath as Goa CM on Tuesday and is set to prove majority in the Goa Assembly today. N Biren Singh took oath as Manipur CM yesterday and Captain Amarinder Singh will be sworn-in as Punjab CM today 

Mar 16, 2017 8:01 am (IST)

Hello and welcome to the live blog of all the post-counting day action 

  • 14 Aug, 2019 | India in West Indies
    WI vs IND
    35.0 overs
    32.3 overs
    India beat West Indies by 6 wickets (D/L method)
  • 14 - 18 Aug, 2019 | The Ashes
    ENG vs AUS
    77.1 overs
    94.3 overs
    England drew with Australia
  • 14 - 18 Aug, 2019 | New Zealand in Sri Lanka
    NZ vs SL
    83.2 overs
    93.2 overs
    Sri Lanka beat New Zealand by 6 wickets
  • 11 Aug, 2019 | India in West Indies
    IND vs WI
    50.0 overs
    42.0 overs
    India beat West Indies by 59 runs (D/L method)
  • 08 Aug, 2019 | India in West Indies
    WI vs IND
    13.0 overs
    Match Abandoned
Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results