Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
News18 » India
1-min read

'What About Diwali for 46,000 Homebuyers': Supreme Court Raps Amrapali Directors After Plea to Visit Home

What about Diwali for 46,000 homebuyers who gave you their life’s savings for getting a home but are suffering, Supreme Court asked Amrapali directors.


Updated:November 1, 2018, 11:18 PM IST

New Delhi: Turning down a plea of Amrapali group's directors, the Supreme Court has said that they don't deserve to go home for Diwali or Holi as they had ruined the festivals for 46,000 homebuyers, who were suffering at the hands of the housing group.

Appearing before a bench of Justices Arun Mishra and U U Lalit on Wednesday, senior advocate Geeta Luthra urged the court to relax its order putting CMD Anil Sharma and two other directors — Shiv Priya and Ajay Kumar — under police custody without arresting them. She pleaded that they should be allowed to visit home on Diwali.

Refusing to show any leniency, the apex court said, "What about Diwali for 46,000 homebuyers who gave you their life’s savings for getting a home but are suffering. They are suffering as they have to pay EMI and rent as well. Forget celebrating Diwali and Holi till you come out with full disclosure (about financial transactions of the company)."

According to a Times of India report, advocate M L Lahoty, appearing for homebuyers, opposed the plea and said the company had not been complying with the SC order and repeatedly sought time to place documents.

The directors were sent to police custody, without being arrested, for not complying with the SC's order. They were directed to work with forensic auditors in arranging the documents of their companies during the day and allowed to stay in a hotel in Noida for the night under police watch.

Get the best of News18 delivered to your inbox - subscribe to News18 Daybreak. Follow News18.com on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, TikTok and on YouTube, and stay in the know with what's happening in the world around you – in real time.

| Edited by: Sumedha Kirti
Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

Also Watch


Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results