Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
  • Municipal Corporations 9/10
  • TRS 8
  • INC 0
  • BJP 1
  • AIMIM 0
  • OTH 0
  • TRS 96
  • INC 9
  • BJP 3
  • AIMIM 2
  • OTH 4
Refresh Data
News18 » India
1-min read

‘Won’t Let India's Diversity Die’: Protests Erupt in Bengaluru Against Citizenship Act

The protesters waved the Karnataka state flag, Indian flag and placards as they sloganeered against the Citizenship Amendment Act.


Updated:December 16, 2019, 1:09 PM IST
facebookTwitter Pocket whatsapp
‘Won’t Let India's Diversity Die’: Protests Erupt in Bengaluru Against Citizenship Act
Protest were seen across the country against Citizenship Bill. (Image : PTI)

Bengaluru: Thousands of Bengalureans protested here against the Citizenship Amendment Act (CAA), calling the movement another 'freedom struggle'.

The protest took place on the Sunday evening. "We have another freedom movement to take part in. To free India from the real 'tukde tukde' gang dividing Indians on the basis of identity," tweeted Congress Rajya Sabha member Rajeev Gowda.

The former Indian Institute of Management-Bangalore (IIM-B) professor called on the protesters to take a pledge to fight for an inclusive India and celebrate diversity.

"I urge everyone to join the struggle to save the soul of our country," Gowda said as he participated in the demonstration at the Townhall in Bengaluru.

A huge flexi poster was hung to the columns of the Acropolis-styled Townhall facade with the inscription 'India Against CAA' and the preamble of the Constitution of India juxtaposed.

The protesters waved the Karnataka state flag, Indian flag and placards as they sloganeered against the new law offering selective citizenship to the persecuted Christians, Hindus, Sikhs, Jains and Zoroastrians from Afghanistan, Pakistan and Bangladesh, excluding all kinds of persecuted Muslims.

Muslim minority sects such as Shias, Ahmadiyas and others are persecuted in Afghanistan, Pakistan and Bangladesh.

A placard at the Townhall read: "Stop attack on the Indian Constitution. #AgainstCAA."

Another protester waved a caricature poster equalising Prime Minister Narendra Modi to the Holocaust perpetrator and former German Chancellor Adolf Hitler.

Making his presence felt at the protest, historian Ramachandra Guha said India was founded on the principles of diversity. "We want democracy, we want pluralism," Guha said.

Sowmya Reddy, Karnataka Legislative Assembly member from Jayanagara spoke at the CAA protest demonstration. She said: "A revolution has begun! We will not let India's diversity die. Thanks to all the organisers. Wake up."

Many members of the Muslim community also took part in the protest on Sunday.

Earlier on Friday, thousands of Muslims protested across Karnataka after Friday prayers and presented memoranda against the CAA to government officials.

On Saturday, hundreds of Assamese and people from other Northeast states, working and living in Bengaluru, protested against the CAA at the Townhall.

Get the best of News18 delivered to your inbox - subscribe to News18 Daybreak. Follow News18.com on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, Telegram, TikTok and on YouTube, and stay in the know with what's happening in the world around you – in real time.

Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

facebookTwitter Pocket whatsapp

Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results