Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
News18 » Books
1-min read

The Handmaiden's Tale Author Margaret Atwood Bags Kafka Prize for 2017

Margaret Atwood, author of The Handmaiden's Tale was Awarded the 2017 Kafka Prize for her life achievements in literature

AFP Relaxnews

Updated:October 19, 2017, 9:29 AM IST
facebookTwitter Pocket whatsapp
The Handmaiden's Tale Author Margaret Atwood Bags Kafka Prize for 2017
Image: Reuters Pictures

Canadian poet, critic and novelist Margaret Atwood received this year's international Franz Kafka literary prize at a ceremony in Prague, which acknowledged The Handmaid's Tale author's lifetime achievements.

"I think this one is quite special because the first free-standing literary essay that I wrote that was not for school was about Franz Kafka back in the 1950s," Atwood told AFP. "At that time I read not only his biography but all of his work and I remember it very well," she added before receiving the $10,000 (8,500 euros) prize.

The 77-year-old Atwood's prolific career spanning decades has included the publication of 17 novels, seven children's books and nearly two dozen books of poetry. The Handmaid's Tale, Atwood's best-known work about a totalitarian society, has inspired a film, a ballet, an opera and most recently, a television series starring Elizabeth Moss that swept last month's Emmy Awards.

Published in 1985, the novel is often mentioned in the same breath as George Orwell's 1984, Aldous Huxley's Brave New World and other dystopian works of speculative fiction. It turned Atwood into a feminist icon. Her other notable novels include The Edible Woman (1969), Cat's Eye (1988), The Robber Bride (1993) and Oryx and Crake (2003). In 2000, Atwood won the Booker Prize -- Britain's top literary award -- for The Blind Assassin.

The Kafka Prize, named after the famous Prague-born writer of such 20th century classics as The Trial, Metamorphosis and The Castle, was first awarded by the Prague-based Franz Kafka society in 2001. Previous winners include Japanese author Haruki Murakami, Israeli writer Amos Oz, US novelist Philip Roth, British playwright Harold Pinter, French poet Yves Bonnefoy and Czech playwright and former president Vaclav Havel.

Read full article

Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results
corona virus btn
corona virus btn