Home » News » Movies » 64th National Awards: Complete List of the Winners

64th National Awards: Complete List of the Winners

Image: News18 Creatives

Image: News18 Creatives

This year's National Film Awards are announced. Filmmaker Priyadarshan is the chairperson of the jury in feature films category, while nationally acclaimed cinematographer and a writer Raju Misra is the chairperson in non-feature category.

Bollywood star Akshay Kumar won his first National Film Award for his role in court room drama Rustom, inspired by the 1959 Nanavati case, while Marathi film Kasaav was named the best picture today. Rajesh Mapuskar will be honoured as the best director for his Marathi film "Ventilator".

The jury, headed by filmmaker Priyadarshan, chose Amitabh Bachchan-starrer Pink, a female-centric court room drama, as the best film on social issues. Surabhi C M was named as the best actress for her role in Malayalam film "Minnaminungu-The Firefly".

Sonan Kapoor-starrer Neerja, a story on flight attendant Neerja Bhanot who was killed by terrorists while saving passengers after the plane was hijacked, bagged the best Hindi film award. The actress received a special mention for her critically-lauded performance.

"Dhanak" was named the best children film while Telugu movie Sathamanam Bhavathi was chosen as the popular film. Kashmiri actress Zaira Wasim was named the best supporting actress for her role in Dangal.

Here is the Complete list of National Award 2017:

Feature Films awards

Best Feature Film- Kasaav (Marathi)

Best Debut Film of A Director - Deep Chaudari (Bengali Film- Alifa)

Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment - Sathamanam Bhavathi

Best Stunt Choreography - Peter Hein (Pulimurugan)

Best Children's Film - Dhanak (Hindi)

Best Film on social issue - Pink

Best Direction - Rajesh Mapuskar (Ventilator)

Best Actor - Akshay Kumar (Rustom)

Best Actress - Surabhi Minnaminungu (Malayalam film- Minnaminungu –the Firefly)

Best Supporting Actress - Zaira Wasim (Dangal)

Best Supporting Actor- Manoj Joshi (Marathi Film- Dashakriya)

Best Child Artist - Adhish Praveen (Kunju Daivam), Saj (Noor Islam), Manohara (Railway Children)

Best Male Playback Singer - Sundara Iyer (Joker)

Best Female Playback Singer - Thume Jaake

Best Screenplay (original) - Syam Pushkaran (Maheshinte Prathikaram)

Best Screenplay (adapted) - Sanjay Krishnaji Patel (Dashakriya)

Best Editing - Rameshwar (Ventilator)

Sound Designer - Jayadevan (Kaadu Pookunna Neram)

Best Production Design - 24

Best Costume Designer - Sachin Lovalekar (Marathi film- Cycle)

Best Dialogues - Tarun Bhascker (Telugu Film- Peli Chuplu)

Best Cinematography- S. Thirunavukarasu (Tamil Film- 24)

Best Animation Film- Mahayodha Rama (Hindi)

Best Film On Environment Conservation/Preservation- Loktak Lairembee (Manipuri)

Nargis Dutt Award For Best Feature Film On NationaL Integration - Dikchow Banat Palaax (Assamese)

Best Make-up Artist - MK Ramakrishna

Best Music Direction - Babu Padmanabha (Kannada Film- Aallama)

Best Special Effects - Shivaay

Best Choreography - Raju Sundaram (Janatha Garrage)

Best Lyrics a) Anupam Roy Film: Dharma Durai (Tamil) Song: Entha Pakkam
b) Vairamuthu Film: Praktan (Bengali) Song: Tumi Jaake Bhalo Basho

Special Mention

* Kadvi Hawa

* Mukti Bhawan (Hindi)

* Adil Hussain for Majirathi Keki (Assamese) and Mukti Bhawan (Hindi)

* Sonam Kapoor for Neerja

Best feature films in regional languages

* Haanduk (Moran)

* Madipu (Tulu)

* Joker (Tamil)

* Wrong side Raju Gujarati

* Peli Chupulu (Telugu)

* Dashakriya (Marathi)

* Maheshinte Prathikaaram (Malayalam)

* Ke Sara Sara (Konkani)

* Reservation (Kannada)

* Neerja (Hindi)

* Bisorjon (Bengali)

* Maj Rati Keteki (Assamese)

- Special Jury award for Mohanlal for Pulimurugan, Janatha Garage and Munthirivallikal Thalirkkumbol

Non- Feature Films awards

Special Mention
* Chembai -Descoperire A mea unei Legende
* Sikar aru Sitkar
* The Eyes of Darkness

Best Narration/Voice over- Makino

Best music- Tanuj Tiku for Leeches

Best editing- Jishu Sen for Gudh

Best Audiography Just a book In Return

Best Cinematography Kalpvriksha and Adnyat

Best Direction: Aditya Suhas Jambhale for Aaba Aiktaay naa?

Best film on Family values- Little Magician

Best Short Fiction film- Aaba

Special Jury Award- The Cinema Travellers

Best Animation Film- Hum Chitra Banate Hai

Best Investigative Film
- Placebo

Best exploration/Adventure film - Matitle Kusti

Best Educational Film- The Waterfall

Best film on Social issues- I am Jeeja, and Sanath

Best Environment film Including Agriculture- The Tiger Who Crossed The Line

Best Arts /Cultural film- In the Shadow of Time, and The lord of The Universe

Best Biographical/Historical Reconstruction- Zikr us Parivashka :Begum Akhtar

Best debut film Of a director- Soz...a Ballad of Maladies

Best Non-Feature Film- Fireflies in The Abyss

(With Inputs from PTI)

first published:April 07, 2017, 12:33 IST