follow us on
reach us on app store
News18 English
donald trump india visit
donald trump india visit

Kerala State Film Awards 2019: Kanthan–The Lover of Colour Wins Best Film, Jayasurya is Best Actor

Image: Sudani From Nigeria/Twitter

Image: Sudani From Nigeria/Twitter

Kerala State Film Awards honours achievements in Malayalam films every year. The prize distribution ceremony for the 49th edition will be held on March 7.

  • Last Updated: February 28, 2019, 9:50 AM IST
Share this:

Minister for Cultural Affairs, A. K. Balan announced the winners of the Kerala State Film Awards in Thiruvananthapuram. The prestigious awards are in their 49th year and honour achievements in Malayalam films. A subsequent award distribution ceremony will take place on March 7.

Kanthan – The Lover of Colour, directed by Shareef Easa, bagged the top honour of the Best Film award, while filmmaker Shyamaprasad took home Best Director award for his film Oru Njayarazhcha. Actor Jayasurya, who played the title role of a transgender named Marykutty in drama film Njan Marykutty, won the Best Actor award for his riveting performance for both Njan Marykutty and Captain, a biographical sports film. He shared the award with Soubin Shahir, who features in Sudani from Nigeria. Nimisha Sajayan won the Best Actress award for her performance in Chola and Oru Kuprasidha Payyan.

Sudani from Nigeria won several awards in the 49th edition of the Kerala State Film Awards. Co-writer and director Zakariya Mohammed was given the Best Debut Director award for Sudani from Nigeria. Savithri Sreedharan and Sarasa Balussery were declared Best Character Actress for their performances in the film. Sudani from Nigeria was also handed the Best Film with Popular Appeal and Aesthetic Value award. Joju George won the Best Character Actor award for Joseph.

The complete list of awards goes as follows:

Best Film – Kanthan: The Lover of Color

Second Best Film – Oru Njayarazhcha

Best Actor – Jayasurya (Captain and Njan Marykutty) and Soubin Shahir (Sudani from Nigeria)

Best Actress – Nimisha Sajayan, Chola and Oru Kuprasidha Payyan

Best Director – Shyamaprasad, Oru Njayarazhcha

Best Character Actor – Joju George, Chola and Joseph

Best Character Actress – Savithra Sreedharan and Sarasa Balussery, Sudani from Nigeria

Best Film with Popular Appeal and Aesthetic Value – Sudani from Nigeria

Best Debut Director – Zakariya Mohammed, Sudani from Nigeria

Best Child Artist – Male – Master Rithun, Appuvinte Sathyanweshanam

Best Child Artist – Female – Abani Adi, Panth

Best Story – Joy Mathew, Uncle

Best Male Singer – Vijay Yesudas, “Poomuthole” from Joseph

Best Female Singer – Shreya Ghoshal, “Neer Maathalam” from Aami

Best Music Director – Vishal Bharadwaj, Carbon

Best Music Director (score) – Bijibal, Aami

Best Lyrics – Hari Narayanan, Joseph and Theevandi

Best Cinematography – KU Mohanan, Carbon

Best Makeup Artist – Ronex Xavier, Njan Marykutty

Best Sound Mixing – Sinoy Joseph, Carbon

Best Sound Design – Jayadevan C, Carbon

Best Editor – Aravind Manmadan

Best Costume Designer – Sameera Saneesh, Kammarasambhavam

Best Dubbing Artist – Female – Sneha M, Lilli

Best Dubbing Artist – Male – Shammy Thilakan, Odiyan

Special Jury award – Madhu Ambat

Special Jury mention – Santhosh Mandoor (Pani), Sanal Kumar Sasidharan (Chola) and KPAC Leela (Roudram)

Screenwriter and director Kumar Shahani was the chairperson of the jury that announced the winners today, The other members of the jury were Sherry Govindan, George Joseph, K G Jayan, Mohandas, Vijayakrishnan, Biju Sukumaran, Berny-Ignatius and Navya Nair among others.

Follow @News18Movies for more

Share this:

Next Story