Lok Sabha Result 2019: Rajinikanth, Salman Khan, Karan Johar Celebs Congratulate BJP on 'Landslide Victory'

Lok Sabha Result 2019: Rajinikanth, Salman Khan, Karan Johar Celebs Congratulate BJP on 'Landslide Victory'

Rajinikanth, Ajay Devgn, Varun Dhawan, Arjun Kapoor and Asha Bhosle among other celebrities have congratulated the ruling BJP and Prime Minister Narendra Modi for the Lok Sabha Polls result after current trends indicate a clean sweep for the party for a second consecutive term.

  • PTI
  • Last Updated: May 24, 2019, 8:29 AM IST
Share this:

Prominent film personalities like Salman Khan, Ajay Devgn, Akshay Kumar and south superstar Rajinikanth congratulated Prime Minister Narendra Modi as he led his Bharatiya Janata Party towards a resounding victory for a second term in office.

With the elections establishing the 68-year-old Modi as the most popular leader in decades, the partial vote count released by the Election Commission showed that BJP will not only surpass its 2014 performance but also cross 300 seats on its own.

Taking to Twitter, Salman hailed PM Modi for registering a "decisive victory" in the polls."Many congratulations Hon. Prime Minister @narendramodi on your decisive victory. We stand by you in building a stronger India," he posted.

Devgn wrote, "The country knows what is right for them and they have made their choice. @narendramodi."

Kumar, who interacted with the prime minister during a "candid and completely non political" interview in April, called his win "historic".

"Heartiest congratulations Hon. Prime Minister @narendramodi ji on the historic win. All your efforts to advance the nation and put it on the global map have been acknowledged. Wishing you an even more successful second term," he tweeted.

The actor's wife, Twinkle Khanna, also lauded PM Modi and the BJP for their "sweeping victory".

"Congratulations to Prime Minister @narendramodi and @BJP4India on their sweeping victory. Democracy must always be celebrated. Here's to our India that I hope becomes synonymous with inclusivity, harmony and development #Election2019Results," she wrote on Twitter.

Rajinikanth, who has been planning his political debut for a while now, congratulated Modi for the win.

"Respected dear @narendramodi ji hearty congratulations... You made it !!! God bless," the South superstar posted.

Veteran singer Lata Mangeshkar wished PM Modi a prosperous future. "Narendra Bhai, I wish that India prospers under your influential leadership and you are successful in all your work," she wrote on Twitter.

Actors Varun Dhawan, Arjun Kapoor and Ayushmann Khurrana also congratulated PM Modi for the win.

Dhawan said, "Looking forward to the future under your guidance and leadership where all Indians move ahead together #JAIHIND."

Kapoor hoped that the country will continue to move in the right direction under the leadership of PM Modi.

"We have voted, India has chosen and the result is almost crystal clear @narendramodi ji congratulations sir we hope the country heads upwards and onwards under your leadership," he wrote.

Khurrana tweeted, "Honourable @narendramodi, congratulations to for being handed over the reins of the country to you once. Jai Hind."

Veteran singer Asha Bhosle said the nation has voted "wisely". "Congratulations to Hon. PM Modi, NDA & all BJP party cadres who have worked tirelessly to take our country into a Golden Age that is long overdue. Jai Hind," she said.

Actor Siddharth, who has often taken potshots on PM Modi and his BJP on a host of issues, hoped the ruling party takes the country to "great heights". "Congratulations #PrimeMinister @narendramodi ji for a historic win in the #Elections2019. I hope you will take us to great heights," he wrote. He also said that he will continue to "voice my honest opinions in the interest of our great nation" without any fear.

This year, actors like Sunny Deol, Urmila Matondkar, Shatrughan Sinha and Prakash Raj among others contested polls.

While Sunny, a BJP candidate from Gurdaspur is leading by over 77,000 votes, Urmila is trailing against BJP's Gopal Shetty in Mumbai North.

Dharmendra took to Twitter to congratulate both his son and PM Narendra Modi with a picture of the two.

"Faqeer Badshah Modi Ji, Dharti puttra Sunny Deol, Congratulations. Achhe Din Yaqeenan Ayen ge (Dervish-king Modi ji, son of soil Sunny Deol, Congratulations. Good days will definitely arrive)" the veteran actor captioned the post.

Dharmendra also congratulated his wife, actor Hema Malini, who is contesting from a BJP ticket from Mathura for a second time in a row. She is currently leading with over 284,000 votes.

"Hema, Congratulations. We love Mother India, we have proved in Bikaner and Mathura. We will keep our (national flag) flying. Always," he said referencing to his own win from Bikaner in 2004.

Producer Ekta Kapoor posted a picture on Instagram with her son Ravie sitting in front of the TV, watching the results for Amethi, where her long-time friend and former actor Smriti Irani is contesting against Congress president Rahul Gandhi.

"All eyes on Amethi, we are rooting for our aunt," she captioned.

Director-producer Karan Johar acknowledged the mandate of the people and said they have chose their leader. "Congratulations Hon. Prime Minister @narendramodi for your historic win... Please accept my best wishes for your continued strength and success in performing the duties of this all-important office. #JaiHind," he said.

On a lighter note, the election also saw actor Sunny Leone trend on Twitter after a leading TV anchor slipped up during his election broadcast, mistakenly saying Sunny Leone instead of Sunny Deol.

The joke was not lost on Leone, who joined the meme-fest with her own tongue-in-cheek remark.

"Leading by How many votes?" she tweeted with a wink emoji.

Amid the congratulatory messages, there were some who could not help but take a pot shot at the condition of the opposition in India.

Actor Ranvir Shorey wrote, "Time to pull your head out of the dynasty's a**. Time to stop accusing others of hatred, while having blind hatred for one man in your heart. Time to make for a credible Opposition. #JannHittMeinJaari."

Share this:
Next Story
corona virus btn
corona virus btn