LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English

64th National Film Awards: Akshay Kumar Wins Best Actor, Kaasav is Best Film | April 7, 2017, 4:02 PM IST
facebook Twitter skype whatapps
The Winners of the 64th National Film Awards for the films released in 2016 have been declared. Akshay Kumar won best actor for Rustom and Surabhi Lakshmi won best actress for Minnaminungu. The best Feature Film went to Marathi film Kaasav.

Sonam Kapoor starrer Neerja bagged the Best Hindi film award for the year 2016.
Read More
Apr 7, 2017 1:25 pm (IST)

Akshay Kumar, winner of Best Actor National Film Award for 2016, had this to say to his fans. 

Apr 7, 2017 1:15 pm (IST)

Bengali director Kaushik Ganguly's film Bishorjon has won the Best Bengali Film Of The Year. The director has previously won awards for Shabdo, Nirbashito and Cinemawala. 

Apr 7, 2017 12:59 pm (IST)

Best Female Playback Singer Award has gone to Bengali singer Imaan Chakravorty for the song Tumi Jaake Bhalobasho from the film Praktan. The music has been composed by Anupam Roy. 

Apr 7, 2017 12:52 pm (IST)

Click to Read: 'Neerja' review: A well-intentioned, heartfelt film that pays tribute to a real hero

The films is based on a real incident during the hijacking of the Pan Am Flight 73 at Karachi airport in 1986, where Neerja Bhanot, a flight attendant, gave up her life in order to save 369 passengers.

Apr 7, 2017 12:47 pm (IST)

I am in shock says, Neerja producer Atul Kasbekar while speaking to The film, based on slain air hostess Neerja Bhanot has won actress Sonam Kapoor Special Jury Award and the film Best Hindi Film. 

Apr 7, 2017 12:34 pm (IST)

Click to read: Pink Movie Review: A Film That Everyone Needs to Watch

A lot of the scenes are shot inside a courtroom. After the absolutely charming Piku, Shoojit Sircar once again teams up with Amitabh Bachchan but this time for a completely different kind of film.

Apr 7, 2017 12:29 pm (IST)

Click to read: National Film Awards: Adil Hussain Wins Special Mention, Calls Mukti Bhawan a Masterstroke

Just a couple of films old in the purported mainstream Bollywood, Adil Hussain seems to understand the industry quite well.

Apr 7, 2017 12:27 pm (IST)

Shoojit Sircar's Pink, an important film that started the debate of consent, has won the best film on social issues. It has been directed by Aniruddha Roy Chowdhury. 

Apr 7, 2017 12:25 pm (IST)

64th National Film Awards, many feel, have been polarised this year. 

Apr 7, 2017 12:23 pm (IST)

Best Male Playback Singer - Sundara Iyer  for Tamil film Joker

Apr 7, 2017 12:22 pm (IST)

Shoojit Sircar's Pink wins Best Film on social issues. This is Sircar's fourth consecutive National award. 

Apr 7, 2017 12:21 pm (IST)

Priyanka Chopra produced Vnetilator won several awards this year including Best Director award for Rajesh. 

Apr 7, 2017 12:20 pm (IST)

Kashmiri girl Zaira Wasim won hearts as she played the young Geeta Phogat in Nitesh Tiwari's Dangal. 

Apr 7, 2017 12:19 pm (IST)

This is Akshay Kumar's first National Film Award. Rustom was based on the in-famous Nanavati Scandal in the 1950s. 

Apr 7, 2017 12:15 pm (IST)

Best Actress award goes to Surabhi for Minnaminungu. 

Apr 7, 2017 12:13 pm (IST)

New Award introduced this year. Best Action Director award goes to Peter Hayne. 

Apr 7, 2017 12:12 pm (IST)

Best Film goes to Marathi film Kaasav. 

Apr 7, 2017 12:11 pm (IST)

Indira Gandhi Award for best debut film goes to Alifa. 

Apr 7, 2017 12:10 pm (IST)

Best Film On Social Issue goes to Anirudha Roy Choudhary's Pink

Apr 7, 2017 12:10 pm (IST)

Best Children's Film goes to Nagesh Kukunoor's Dhanak. 

Apr 7, 2017 12:09 pm (IST)

Best Actor Award goes Akshay Kumar for Rustom . 

Apr 7, 2017 12:09 pm (IST)

Best Supporting Actress award goes Zaira Wasim for Dangal. 

Apr 7, 2017 12:07 pm (IST)

Best Female Playback Singer goes to Emaan Chakraborty for Tumi Jaake Bhalobasho from film Praktan. 

Apr 7, 2017 12:06 pm (IST)

Best re-recording award also to Priyanka Chopra produced Ventilator. 

Apr 7, 2017 12:06 pm (IST)

Best constume desinger goes to Marathi film Cycle. And Best Production design award goes to Tamil film 24. Best Editing goes to marathi film Ventilator. 

Apr 7, 2017 12:05 pm (IST)

Special Jury Award has been given to Malayalam actor Mohanlal. 

Apr 7, 2017 12:04 pm (IST)

Navin Paul gets award for Best Special Affects for Shivaay

Apr 7, 2017 12:03 pm (IST)

Best Hindi Film goes to Neerja to Ram Madhvani and Best Bengali film goes Bisorjon directed by Kaushik Ganguly

Apr 7, 2017 12:03 pm (IST)

Best Kannada film goes to Reservation. 

Apr 7, 2017 12:02 pm (IST)

Best Marathi Film goes to Dashakriya

Load More
64th National Film Awards: Akshay Kumar Wins Best Actor, Kaasav is Best Film

Eminent film director, producer, and screenwriter Shri Priyadarshan is the Jury Chairperson in Feature Films category.

As it happened:
  • 20 Sep, 2019 | Bangladesh Tri-Nation T20I Series
    AFG vs ZIM
    20.0 overs
    19.3 overs
    Zimbabwe beat Afghanistan by 7 wickets
  • 18 Sep, 2019 | South Africa in India
    SA vs IND
    20.0 overs
    19.0 overs
    India beat South Africa by 7 wickets
  • 18 Sep, 2019 | Bangladesh Tri-Nation T20I Series
    BAN vs ZIM
    20.0 overs
    20.0 overs
    Bangladesh beat Zimbabwe by 39 runs
  • 15 Sep, 2019 | Bangladesh Tri-Nation T20I Series
    AFG vs BAN
    20.0 overs
    19.5 overs
    Afghanistan beat Bangladesh by 25 runs
  • 14 Sep, 2019 | Bangladesh Tri-Nation T20I Series
    AFG vs ZIM
    20.0 overs
    20.0 overs
    Afghanistan beat Zimbabwe by 28 runs
Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results