Take the pledge to vote

For a better tommorow#AajSawaroApnaKal
  • I agree to receive emails from News18

  • I promise to vote in this year's elections no matter what the odds are.
  • Please check above checkbox.


Thank you for
taking the pledge

Vote responsibly as each vote counts
and makes a diffrence


Issued in public interest by HDFC Life. HDFC Life Insurance Company Limited (Formerly HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited) (“HDFC Life”). CIN: L65110MH2000PLC128245, IRDAI Reg. No. 101 . The name/letters "HDFC" in the name/logo of the company belongs to Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited ("HDFC Limited") and is used by HDFC Life under an agreement entered into with HDFC Limited. ARN EU/04/19/13618
LIVE TV DownloadNews18 App
News18 English
News18 » Movies
2-min read

Star Screen Awards 2018: Alia Bhatt, Ranveer Singh Power the List of Winners

Here’s all about who won what at the Star Screen Awards 2018.


Updated:December 17, 2018, 11:22 AM IST
facebookTwitter Pocket whatsapp
Star Screen Awards 2018: Alia Bhatt, Ranveer Singh Power the List of Winners
Alia Bhatt and Ranveer Singh. (Images: Instagram)

With 2018 nearing its close, the season of celebrating stand-out performances of the year has officially begun. The first one to initiate the felicitations, Star Screen Awards hosted a grand ceremony in Mumbai on Sunday.

Unsurprisingly, Ranveer Singh was awarded the Best Actor (Male) for his portrayal of Alauddin Khilji in Sanjay Leela Bhansali’s magnum opus Padmaavat and Alia Bhatt bagged the Best Actor (Female) award for her role of an undercover spy in Meghna Gulzar’s Raazi.

Screen Shot 2018-12-17 at 10.48.10 AM

Rajkummar Rao won the Best Popular Actor (Male) for his performance in one of this year’s biggest hits Stree. Meanwhile, Gajraj Rao and Neena Gupta won the critics awards for best actor (male and female, respectively) for their earnest portrayal of an ageing couple battling with accidental pregnancy in Amit Sharma’s Badhaai Ho.

Amar Kaushik’s Stree was named the Best Film whereas Anubhav Sinha’s courtroom drama Mulk, starring Rishi Kapoor and Tapsee Pannu, won Best Film (Critics). Sriram Raghavan was awarded the Best Director for giving this year’s break-out thriller Andhadhun, which starred Tabu, Ayushmann Khurrana and Radhika Apte in pivotal roles.

Here’s the list of all the other winners:

Best Actor in Supporting Role (Male): Pankaj Tripathi for Stree

Best Actor in Supporting Role (Female): Surekha Sikri for Badhaai Ho

Best Debut (Male): Ishaan Khatter for Beyond the Clouds

Best Debut (Female): Radhika Madan for Pataakha

Best Film Writing: Arijit Biswas, Sriram Raghavan for Andhadhun

Best Music: Amit Trivedi for Manmarziyaan

Best Playback Singer (Male): Arijit Singh for Ae Watan (Raazi)

Best Playback Singer (Female): Harshdeep Kaur for Dilbaro (Raazi)

Best Lyrics: Gulzar for Ae Watan (Raazi)

Best Action: Ahmed Khan for Baaghi 2

Best Real Star on Social Media: Katrina Kaif

Lifetime Achievement: Shabana Azmi

Follow @News18Movies for more.

Get the best of News18 delivered to your inbox - subscribe to News18 Daybreak. Follow News18.com on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, Telegram, TikTok and on YouTube, and stay in the know with what's happening in the world around you – in real time.

Read full article
Next Story
Next Story

facebookTwitter Pocket whatsapp

Live TV

Countdown To Elections Results
To Assembly Elections 2018 Results